Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

This motel is located in a nice neighborhood.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This motel is a good place to stay, it feels like you are in our own apartment. Good for family, I like it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. Thanks for your business, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherryland

Fun times in Glendale

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: nice grounds, parking lot, building and rooms
Cons: free breakfast, you probably shouldn't even bother to offer the coffee
Location: Easy access to I-5, plenty of fast food restaurants and Armenian culture.
not enough room here to post a complete review, if management would contact me I'd be happy to discuss it with them or at the corporate level
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for the evaluating your stay. We are glad you had an overall pleasant visit and liked our location. That being said, we are sorry for our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Your concerns will be shared with our Food and Beverage team in an effort to our facilities. We hope will have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to downtown Burbank

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location and reasonable pricing.
Cons: Breakfast could add some more food selections.
Location: Close to Downtown Burbank with its shopping, restaurants and close to the movie studios.
Room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. Easy access.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ron, thanks so much for the wonderful feedback. We are happy you had a great stay with us, and that you liked your room as well as the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast and have made a note of the same. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope you will choose us again! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Clean and reasonable price. Staff is pleasant. Continental breakfast is supplied which makes the morning easier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale. We are so happy to read you had an enjoyable visit and that you were especially pleased with our breakfast offerings and courteous service. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope to be your first choice every time you visit our area. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glendale

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
it is a really nice hotel in a quiet area not many tv ch to choose from
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Our thanks for reviewing your stay at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale. We are so pleased to read you had an enjoyable experience and that our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback. Please come and see us the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly rooms

Posted Apr 26, 2017
No ice machine or coffee maker, $15 parking fee. Stay elsewhere. gross hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your evaluation. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered and for the inconvenience it caused. I am concerned about your feedback and have immediately brought this to the attention of our housekeeping for review and action. As we have a full-size refrigerator in all our rooms which includes ice trays, we do not have ice machines on our property. We also review our pricing regularly to make sure that we are priced competitively. Thanks again, we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please provide at least one trash bin in each room

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, just ok. Location is great. First time in a hotel without a trash bin inside the room or bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you had an overall nice visit and loved our location. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused while you were here. Your feedback is important to us as it will help us to improve our service and facilities going forward. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's ok

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nothing to blow you away but ok place to stay. Check in was a pain. I did everything through Expedia and seems like I had to do it all again when I got there which sucks when your tired and just want to sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit. We are pleased you had an overall pleasant experience. Having said that, we are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered at the time of check-in. We hope you will give us the opportunity to impress you on your future visit. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We just wanted a place to stay decently distanced from Universal Studios. The area is not the greatest. Not many restaurants around. The hotel was accommodating by giving us a non-smoking suite when I had mistakenly reserved a smoking room. The room was outdated but clean. The breakfast was included but was very disappointing with only coffee, tea, hot water for oatmeal, granola bars and cheap blueberry muffins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are happy that you liked your clean room, but we are sorry for not being able to meet all of your expectations with our breakfast offerings. We will certainly share your feedback with the appropriate team regarding food and beverage selections at our hotel. We hope you will give us another chance the next time your travels bring you back this way. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TO CLEAN OR NOT TO CLEAN

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Upon entering the room I discovered that the sheets were dirty, stained with mascara and laides foundation. I am aware that they usually have guests longer than 1 night and those guests usually only get one day maid service. So I really don't think my room was cleaned prior to my arrival and I'm curious if it was cleaned after I left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased you had an overall nice stay. However, I apologize for not living up to our commitment to clean, fresh rooms during your stay. I have shared your concerns with my housekeeping department to make sure all procedures are being followed so this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance the next time your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, General Manager