Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NORTH CALIF

breakfast your kidding

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Room
Cons: BREAKFAST
Hotel was nice with good staff BUT do not call, what we received, as considered breakfast which was a joke...coffee with nature bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you liked our courteous associates, but we are sorry that you were unhappy with our breakfast offerings. We will make a note of your feedback as we plan any changes to it. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glendale

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Bad room quality. Good WiFi. Checking was quick Sheets not clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to read you liked our courteous front desk service and the internet facility. That being said, we are sorry you were not happy with your room. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team for review and action. We hope you will give us another chance so we can serve you much better. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2017
You must pay to park your car and they suggest you remove all things of value
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were comfortable here and were impressed with most aspects of our hotel. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused while being here. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
arrived 15 minutes before 3pm check in time. Had to wait . Clerk showed another person a room after me, She checked her in and another even though I arrived before them. First room I had smelled of cigarette smoke ,even though it was non smoking room. was moved efficiently to another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you stayed with us, but we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced while here. Your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Nice location. The bathroom vanity was very worn and damaged. Could use replacing. It would be nice if they offered a larger selection for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting Extended Stay America. It makes us happy that we were able to deliver a pleasant stay. Your feedback is appreciated as it will help us improve our service and facilities moving forward. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san leandro ca

Fire

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The first night we stayed we came out of the elevator and right away it smelt like cigarette smoke and this hotel is smoke free for 1. 2 we were woken up by a fire alarm at 3am and smoke coming from down the hall i just grabbed my child and ran down to the stairs. 3rd the pull out soda bed broke. 4th the room was not cleaned at all the bath tub was gross there was other people's nails on the bathroom floor the kitchen area had a sticky spill and it looked like the didn't even sweep either it was gross NEVER AGAIN
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We take these matters very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary actions to ensure these issues are properly addressed. Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Fracisco, Ca.

Not Good

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Fee ($5.00) for parking but there is plenty of free street parking, which the staff does not advise of that optional. You are only provided with one small sampoo bottle, no lotion or conditioner. The one blanket you are provided is thin and the pillows are flat. The comforter was also thin and contained a cigarette burn/hole.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dave, we apologize for not meeting all of your expectations and regret the inconvenience it caused. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will be reviewing our guidelines to provide a better experience for every guest entering our doors. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santee , Ca

Hotel needs Updated

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The refrigerator made noise, room smelled like pet urine when we entered, light was shorting out, air conditioner dirty, outdated cabinets and bathroom, housekeeper did not come and clean and give us clean towels, had to ask. Breakfast not really muffins and coffee or oatmeal. The only thing good was the bed, safe environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Christy, thank you for your feedback. We uphold all of the brand standards for quality and service. We're so sorry that our hotel fell short of your expectations, and We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.We appreciate your feedback and candor. We hope you will consider visiting us again on your next trip to our area so that we can make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

A very, very poor experience

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: There's nothing to do nearby.
The bed was uncomfortable, blanket under the comforter had cigarette burns...The kitchen and fridge was dirty and from 1985. We didn't even bother asking for pots or pans. Floor was dusty and don't get me started on the disgusting bathroom. Hair and pieces of soap from the previous guest was left in the tub. Make up from the person before still on the sink and I hovered over the toilet. Thank goodness I have had all my shots! No air conditioning...there was an air unit that was so loud that we couldn't leave it on to sleep. Between the fridge and wall unit it was like a train coming through our room. Walls: We had lovely neighbors who were over zealous and woke us up multiple times at night with banging on the wall. When I went downstairs to complain and ask to move my room there was no attendant throughout the night. There was a sign to call a number if you had issues. Breakfast: What breakfast? Packets of oatmeal and old instant coffee does not count Parking: We were charged $5.00 a day to park in an open parking lot next to the hotel. When I asked the front desk about it the front desk attendant ran into the back of the office because he didn't want to deal with it Housekeeping: Housekeeping never came to clean our room, change our towels or even open our door. Someone at check in could have let us know because we would have opted to pay more for house cleaning The manager did give us a discount on one of the nights due to all these issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean and comfortable room that you deserved. What you encountered does not meet our standards either. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously, and steps are already underway to ensure this does not happen again. We can absolutely do better, and we hope you give us the opportunity in the future to prove that to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite location in Glendale

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The location in Glendale is very central and nice.
The hotel is very affordable, the staff is very friendly. I had some problems with the noise level of the other guests. I stayed there Saturday night and the noise level of the people partying next door woke me up in the middle of the night. So you get what you pay for. If you want a nicer hotel with classier quiter guests, I guess you have to pay up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy you had an overall pleasant stay and that you were benefitted with our location and our affordable rates. However, we apologize you were not able to experience a quiet and relaxing sleep. When made aware of these situations, our front desk staff is trained to have appropriate conversations with our guests to resolve such issues. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management