Ratings based on 1,478 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nostalgic but no elevator

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Nostalgic building.
Cons: Elevator, air conditioner that cooled better.
Location: Lots of eating places. I was there for a seminar so didn't explore.
Very cool old building. Rooms are up to date. I had trouble getting the room cooled down with air conditioner and the bath tub didn't have skid resistant treads. I have back, neck, asthma, and hand issues. The young man when I checked in didn't offer help with my bags and there is no elevator. I struggled to get my bags to the second floor and up the very steep stairs. The desk person in the morning did offer help, however I had already taken them down to my car. Very clean and quiet. Not sure I'll go again. Too much of a struggle with my disabilities, maybe if I were younger.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice location. No elevator

Posted May 19, 2017
Nice location in downtown Glendale right in the shopping and eating region! The room was great! And cool artwork! Be prepared for stairs, though. One flight down from free parking then one or two up to the rooms. All the inconveniences of Europe right in Southern California.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liu

Very nice boutique hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
This is a really nice hotel. Great location, nice staff, classic yet clean and updated room. One little problem is the room is a little bit small. My only real complain is that there's no elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Perfect location

Posted May 14, 2017
Clean, close to shops and restaurants, everything you need for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice clean & quiet hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: great location, clean room and quiet atmosphere
Location: Close to stores, restaurants and gym
Hotel has very nice location, close to excellent 'Porto' cafe and other places with tasty food, so you don't have to walk far or drive to eat good. The atmosphere of that place is really so special that we felt like home. Hotel room and bathroom were very clean. Sheets and towels were replaced very often by amazing cleaning ladies. Yes, there is few steps that you have to climb, but they provide help if you have more luggage. Parking is behind the building which is very convenient. We would definetly go back again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Terrible parking and dingy hallways

Posted May 10, 2017
My husband and I arrived at 11:00 pm. We had to park in a separate structure around the corner from the hotel. After we checked in, my husband had to go back outside, through a scary, dark alley up to the second floor of the structure and place a parking placard on our rear view mirror. The receptionist at night was nice, but weird looking. It was difficult to understand his English. He did have a good attitude. The lobby and hallways were dark and dingy. This hotel looks better online than in person. The actual room was fine. Overall the guests were quiet. The location in Glendale was very convenient and the price was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma

A Sweet Find

Posted May 2, 2017
From the 192os, this hotel has redone the rooms with simple elegance. Not too fancy, but quiet & out of the fray of traffic noise. Centrally located. Drawbacks: lots of stairs, 2nd floor hallway is seedy and rundown. Still, worth the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
This is my go to hotel for Glendale. Central area for Alex Theater, The Greek Theater, and Griffith Observatory
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean, Excellent service, Convenient

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: friendly, helpful staff Clean rooms Centrally located
Cons: Microwaves in the rooms would be nice
Location: Americana Mall Galleria Mall Art Galleries Great Restaurants
Hotel Brandwood exceeded my expectations. Located in the charming town of Glendale, CA, it is a small, but classy hotel. The staff at the front desk were very courteous and provided me with all the extra information that I needed during my stay. They went out of their way to make me comfortable. The cleaning crew did a fantastic job, the place was spotless. I will definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to other travelers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

very convenient and comfortable

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Comfort and convenience
Hotel Brandwood is conveniently close to freeways, shopping, food. The staff are outstanding and rooms comfortable, if a little noisy.