Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Pros: The majestic building that has been thoughtfully upgraded.
Cons: Upgrade the bathrooms to include a seprerate shower cubical
Location: Visited from Australia although I am from Markinch. Location is stunning and the activities nearby were irrelevant for my visit.
Beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings. The only let downs were the bathroom facilities i.e. shower over the bath. Also, there was no mini-bar and limited amenities for making coffee etc in the room. I would stay at this hotel again as its just such a beautiful and historic building. Staff were great and food and wine first class. Thank you staff at Balbirnie House.
4 out of 5
by susan

Lovely place.

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant, comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Musselburgh

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Nice public rooms and helpful friendly staff.
Cons: As with all old building a constant battle to maintain them.
Location: Set in a park, loads of walks and they are pet friendly.
Stunning old building, fantastic public rooms to sit in.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

A superb stay.

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
A very enjoyable short stay. Everyone so attentive and with excellent service. Dinner an enjoyable experience. Will be returning.
4 out of 5
by Shawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline

Nice country hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Stayed one night in a lovely room, hotel has charming public rooms and caters for small parties of just a few people as well as large events. There was a wedding on during our visit yet our small group of 6 were still catered for very well in a private room and there was no adverse effects of the wedding (food quality, service, noise etc) during our overnight stay.
5 out of 5
by marc

Very nice

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Outstanding
3 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Very nice hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
We were there on a Monday when the hotel was very quiet so we were very disappointed to find ourselves in a room where the décor was duck egg blue walls, a grey carpet and a view of all the rooftops of the hotel's extensions. It was nothing like the rooms shown on the internet and was a bit depressing. When I mentioned this at the reception desk I was informed that it was one of the rooms still to be upgraded. No mention was made of moving us. It was a bit like being a second class citizen. The room, however, was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. There were no instructions for the coffee machine and the cord on the kettle was not long enough to reach a plug except by having it on the floor next to the fireplace. There was one biscuit supplied. The food in the restaurant was very nice and the service was good. However, at breakfast, the fruit and yoghurt etc. were displayed in the smallest dishes I have ever seen at a hotel breakfast and were totally inadequate. Consequently, if you were third in line, they were empty and nobody bothered to check them. The same was true of the orange juice dispenser. I had to go out to the hall to ask the waitresses to re- fill them. They should have been doing that instead of chatting to each other. This hotel was exceptionally clean and is in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens. However, in view of the foregoing I don't think we would return.