Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a historical hotel at a convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: clean, quiet, convenient
Cons: none
Location: across from the hot spring pool and within 5 min walk of fine restaurants
this hotel is a historic hotel across from the hot springs pool. room is clean; hotel decor is impressive. i would recommend this hotel as top choice. 这家酒店是Glenwood Springs百年老店,远远超出当地的其他酒店。房间没有空调,但在那不是问题。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, CO

Older hotel with nice outdoor seating

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: We were a group of 12 so we especially enjoyed the outdoor restaurant/bar area where we had a place to meet & socialize.
Cons: Bathrooms were small & could be updated.
Location: Location is within the town of Glenwood Springs and is close to restaurants and the springs (pool).
Older hotel with a very small parking lot so they tell you to use street parking if the lot is full. There is no air conditioning but there are fans on ceilings & portable floor fans in rooms. Staff are friendly. The service for meals outside was quite slow at times. Very nice outdoor seating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Love the historical aspect of this hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Historical
Cons: Update the rooms, great to leave the hotel historical but some updates could help
Location: Location is fine
I love the historical aspect of this hotel, however, beware the hotel doesn't have air conditioning we visited the end of July first part of August, our room was so hot none of us could sleep, we couldn't wait to get out of there. My sister stayed there in October a few years ago and it was fine. We were going to eat breakfast at the hotel but the line was so long we ended up going to a restaurant. So if the heat doesn't bother you or your traveling when the climate is cooler it's a fun place for the historical aspect of it. We ended up checking out and going to a hotel with air and a cold pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great service- Still many condition issues

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Again, the service is by far the best thing
Cons: Start cleaning/repairing the showers, getting your equipment in the rooms to work, and update a few things here and there.
Location: Location is superb, it's right next to the pool and shopping and restaurants
First, Let me start with saying, I have visited Glenwood Springs many times over the last 15 years . And always wanted to stay at the nostalgic hotel Colorado. I stayed at various nostalgic turn of the 20th century hotels around America. So I was really looking forward to this. Unfortunately it mostly let me down. First, I need to point out the positives. I really need to commend g the staff. The check in process was great, the front desk staff is great, the door guy was great, even the guy that bought us for the shuttle over the restaurant was great. So definitely customer service is a five . Now with the litany of things that are not so great about the place . We got to the room and the TV and Wi-Fi works for all of an houR. Then it went out for at least the next 2 1/2 hours. Front desk said they're working on it. OK not a big deal moving on. Figure will turn the radio on . Yep that was broken as well. So figure ill take a shower while waiting. This is where it really gets bad. there was mold all over the ceiling of the shower , large crack about 2 to 3 feet long in the shower wall. In the floor of the shower was atrocious extremely dirty and worn. I've been in cleaner showers at the YMCA. Oh and I kind of forgot to mention one thing, there is no air conditioning in the rooms at all. Not only was the shower disgusting you sweat a lot as the rooms are very warm. in the end the hotel has a lot of issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Historic hotel at a great location.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I loved the historic elegance of this place and the photos of famous guests. The hotel opened in 1893 and has character and class -- but if you like modern conveniences then it might not be for you. No air conditioning but plenty of fans. Bathroom counters are tiny. Not generous with power outlets. Staff at front desk are very helpful with bike storage and directions. Lovely patio garden for relaxing. Wifi was slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location relative to town and attractions.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Heritage. Price. Outside courtyard. Huevos rancheros for breakfast was fantastic!
Cons: I was surprised that they didn't have air conditioning, but I survived with the overhead fan just fine.
I stayed here because I attended a wedding in Redstone and the hotel there was sold out. I was surprised that Glenwood Springs was a cute town with a lot to do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

An Old Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: It's location and free parking.
Cons: Air conditioning would be wonderful, shabby furniture could be recovered, and the garden could be weeded.
Location: The hotel is in the center of town and is near the pool and good restaurants.
I know it's a Historic Hotel, but it is really just an old run down hotel. The chair in our room was in shreds. Most upsetting was how hot it was in the room. Even with the ceiling fan and box fan we could not sleep. The location is outstanding and the lobby has a certain old charm. Parking is free. The garden could stand some weeding, but, at least, it was cooler there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Searcy, AR

Loved this historic hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Convenient to hot springs and staff gave exceptional service. Will stay here again if I return to the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

92 degrees and no air conditioning

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Location: Very close to hot springs.
Furnishings need a lot of work. (falling apart) No Air conditioning. no coffee makers in the room. no mini fridge. this hotel is way overdue for a renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Like staying with a friend

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The hotel staff was absolutely amazing and answered every question we had… Even the questions about ghosts in the hotel! When it came time to eat the outdoor patio was very relaxing and the staff was very attentive and fun. The food was the best we had from any place we stayed while in Colorado! We felt very comfortable the entire time.