Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Hotel Colorado in Glenwood Springs

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: as above. The price was very reasonable (compared to the Lodge next door whose prices have gone up to a ridiculous amount!
Location: we spent one day at the hot springs pool which is the main reason we go to Glenwood. Italian Underground is our favorite restaurant.
We like the old Victorian style of the hotel. We knew there would be no A/C so the big ceiling fan & windows able to be open were just fine. Comfortable beds, etc. Good breakfast at the hotel. Staff was very courteous & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, Colorado

Grand, historic, and simply perfect!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!! You are not far away from anything at this hotel. Plus, the ambiance is lovely. You'll fall in love with this hotel.
Cons: It's not an area of "improvement" per se, but be aware that with the age of the hotel comes the inevitable lack of more modern heating and cooling.
Location: So much hiking and biking! Get a guidebook and set out on your own adventure. Also, the restaurant scene in Glenwood Springs is wonderful.
My July 4th Holiday included a stop in Glenwood Springs for some hiking, biking, dining, and relaxation. I selected the Hotel Colorado primarily because they were dog friendly (we had the four-legged travel companion with us, so it wasn't optional), but was overwhelmed by how lovely the property was, how comfy our room was, and how accommodating and friendly the staff of the Hotel Colorado were. The title of my review refers to the historic element of this hotel. That means that central air isn't something you're going to find in a room, which for us was absolutely fine since they provided a box fan for us. Placed it in the window and all was good. Also, the hotel was very quiet, clean, and our bed was very comfortable, which was helpful after an active day of hiking and biking. Oh...so you don't have a bike? No problem. The hotel can recommend one of several shops where you can rent one. Want to try your hand at white water rafting? They can set you up for your trip on site. Need a swimsuit or coverup for the hot springs? Also covered. The hotel literally has anything that you can possibly want to complete your trip. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. You're right across the street from the hot springs, and within walking distance to some amazing dining options. Steaks, brewpubs...you name it, you can walk to get it. Glenwood Springs is a GREAT starting point to explore so many places, and the Hotel Colorado is a fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel that needs improvements but can't

Posted Jun 22, 2015
It's a nice historic hotel. The staff are friendly and the history is pretty cool. But being historic there's no AC which is a drag. Also the rooms aren't the nicest. They are great with dogs and the restaurant although pricy is very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Everything was out dated. The paint on the walls and doors was old.Nothing special about the rooms. No vanity in the bathrooms to put your stuff on. The bed was uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Historic elegance!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
If you want modern decor and every possible amenity, this may not be your place. But if you want to immerse yourself in the gracious elegance of Glenwood Springs history, you'll find it here in abundance. Comfy beds, fabulous food, efficient service and an easy walk to the pool, spas, restaurants, bike paths, train station and shops. And you can't beat sipping wine and star-gazing by the fire pits in the garden, with a lovely fountain splashing beside you. Yes, there's free Wifi, but SO much more!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Cons: My only suggestion would be is to have mini fridges in the rooms.
Location: The Hot Springs is a must. The Vapor Caves are very wonderful way to relax as well. For fifteen dollars u can get a day pass. Great deal...
Had beautiful weather hotel staff was vey friendly and helpful... Would defiantly go back for another stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Historic hotel closest to attractions

Posted May 31, 2015
The hotel is full of history, but the average room is not full of modern comforts. The hallways are huge but also noisy at times. It is about what we expected. The best part is the gardens with water fountains and fire pits at night. Lots of out door seating that we loved. The main reason to stay here is location, location, location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to hot springs

Posted May 26, 2015
Good central location, close to dining and area attractions. Good conference facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An historical landmark that has seen grander days.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: It was a pleasure to be served by the shuttle driver who took us to and from the train station.
Location: Great location if you are going to focus on the Hot Springs pool. Easy to walk to and from hotel.
Great bones to this aged landmark. Staff and services were very good but room conveniences were wanting. The bed was ok but not great, there was no waste basket in the room, we had to use the small one in the bathroom. The room was very hot in the evening and the window and ceiling fan were the only means of cooling. Fortunaelty, the combination of open window and fan worked. Fortunately, the fan was quiet at high speed. We were there during the Spring and the summer heat was not an issue but I wonder if the open window/ceiling fan combination would work in the full summer season. Price was very good and based upon that we would consider again during the off season. this would be a nice place for a family with a pet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Junction, CO

Great historical hotel in need of some repair

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location and historic nature of it.
Cons: Updating worn out carpets and bathrooms.
This is a beautiful historic hotel that needs some love. The worn out carpet and bathrooms need some attention. Our room was clean. The location is wonderful. The staff was attentive and pleasant. Ate breakfast a Barrons restaurant on site. It was ok. The coffee was good.