Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Staff were excellent

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I was staying with my partner, we had booked a table for the evening for a nice meal which was excellent by the way, but what really I'm pressed me was the waitress must of overheard it was her birthday and on receiving dessert the 2 waitresses had added 2 candles to it and sang happy birthday to her, it was a really nice touch for her special day thanks girls 👍
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Such a nice comfortable place!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, the comfort and the food
The staff are so friendly. The restaurant offers an imaginative menu, very good and plentiful food and the bar has a good choice of real ales and different gins, always a good sign. The room was very comfortable, clean, quiet and has all you need. We had the best night's sleep and were almost too late waking up to get breakfast! Definitely one hotel to use whenever in the area. One for the memory bank!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Our bed was massive and very compfy x

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Bed was huge and so compfy. Place is great for parties etc. We stayed dor a wedding evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leominster

Nice hotel handy for the overall area

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Area and situation
Cons: Do not allow dogs into hotel and improve the service at breakfast
There were too many dogs in the bar area where people are eating. Large dogs were a nuisance and smaller dogs were allowed on the furniture. Breakfast was very slow and the tables were not cleared for other people arriving to eat. Apart from those two complaints we found the hotel acceptable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel with good access to the Cotswold attrac

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pretty hotel from outside. Mix of styles inside which feels a bit muddled. Room was a bit dated, dim lighting, blackened bathroom tiles but beautiful 4 poster bed and great shower. Service a bit slow for dinner and breakfast but food good and reasonable price. Several things not available from the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great bar, great breakfast, friendly helpful staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Perfect spot. Great find............. ........
2 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by keith

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for visiting local area Staff very friendly and helpful all in all a great place to stay
5 out of 5
by Garry

Superb hotel!

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Extremely comfortable bed, spacious room, everything absolutely fine. Food excellent, well cooked an plentiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Nice friendly hotel, just a little tired

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The staff, the old building and the location
Cons: Refurbish the bedrooms, improve the menus and get rid of the TV's and slot machines from the bar. Dont let dogs in!
Location: We were at a private function nearby so didn't get to see much in the local area. There is nothing to do or see in Birdlip, not even a pub or shop!
The hotel is a lovely old coaching inn and it has been extended with many bedrooms to the rear. The bare and restaurant are large but with plenty of intimate spaces, shame there are televisions in the bar area as they do distract and often stop conversation. The food in the reasturant was not very inspiring and very average 'pub grub' quality. Not fine dining. The room we stayed in was 27 and although very clean and comfortable it was very tired and in need of refurbishing. The furninture was well past its sell by date. The bathroom had a badly cracked sink and little giveaways that some changes had been made was that the taps didn't match, so probably a new bath. However, the staff were all very good and helpful and the whole place was clean and tidy.