Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by David from Oxford

Excellent break

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant perfect apart from the weather
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in lovely location.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Friendly hotel staff and well cooked breakfasts. We were there over New Year, and they had live music in the restaurant. Although I was assured at the time of booking that we wouldn't be able to hear it in our room, the base was clearly audible through our walls. It spoilt what was an otherwise enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Coventry

Interesting building

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
An interesting old building but be aware that the Arabian Nights room has no windows. We did not like having to pre-order the choice of breakfast day before, although it was a very good breakfast. The attached restaurant is nice but the food seemed pretty average.
5 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anonymous

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great Break, lovely ambiance. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by tony from billingham

beautiful clean and friendly

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful room very comfortable and clean , I made a mistake on the booking saying two adults when in fact there was three of us , it was sorted professionally with minimal charge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

unhelpful owner

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Don't leave anything behind Mr Paterson is the most unhelpful person it has been my misfortune to come into contact with.I sent an E mail requesting he send by post at my expense the battery charger, I received a reply stating the post office had closed ,as the postmistress had been arested for fraud, and he would therefore would have to drive to Stroud 4miles away and he was unwilling to do that after several other Emails thelong and short of it is I purchased a replacement.Ihave kept the E mails if you require verification of this sad story
5 out of 5
by Graeme from Brighouse

Enjoyable four night stay

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for four nights in Arabian Knights room (Room 8). Comfortable and spacious room. All staff very friendly. Great breakfasts served on piping hot plates. Ate once in Bistro for evening meal and with starter and main, there was no room for pudding. Very tasty food too. Would certainly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, old inn in the amazing Cotswolds.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
John, the owner, greeted us on arrival. He was warm and friendly and made for a most pleasant welcome after a long drive through the narrow winding roads. The inn is in a building over 500 years old, and beautifully well cared for. There are a couple of nice pubs around, although the Cardynham's restaurant was closed when we were there. Beautiful views of the Cotswolds and valley near Painswick. Excellent breakfast.