Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

best of the umpteen hotels in Cheltenham I've used

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: excellent location, convivial staff, comfortable room, still has such a thing as a single room, an Independent
Cons: room was 'generously' warm but period-style window rattled a lot when open - woke me up during the night. I should have put a paper wedge in or such
Location: perfect location for visiting central Cheltenham - leave the car there & walk everywhere
excellent location, convivial staff, very comfortable room. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant. Having been visiting Cheltenham quite often for the last couple of years, but not likely to be doing so again for the foreseeable future, I wish I'd found this first time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A charming place

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Only good things to say about this place. Very friendly staff, who take the trouble to get to know you. Elegantly furnished public areas, clean and comfortable rooms, and excellent food. Good value!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia Md

Beautiful classic hotel near downtown Cheltenham

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The great breakfast and period features. Also the location.
Cons: As mentioned earlier, no lifts but that has to be expected - not really a problem.
Location: Cheltenham is on the edge of the Cotswolds so there is obviously plenty of scope for exploration of the countryside.
Lovely older hotel with many original features still intact. Excellent continental breakfast buffet with plenty of good coffee and you could order a full English breakfast, all included. Short walk to downtown Cheltenham. Enjoyed staying in a period property but there are no lifts so beware if stairs are a problem. We were able to manage our luggage but staff offered their help a couple of times. There is also parking so nice not to have to worry about that. We enjoyed our stay and will likely stay there again on our next visit. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Lovely old home with lots of character

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Homey and comfortable. Very nice breakfast
My daughters and I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was in a quiet neighborhood but within walking distance to the city center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable well positioned good value

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a gracious Regency building who is only disadvantage is that there is no lift. At reception my bags were carried upstairs and I was moved down from the 2nd to the first floor which helped. The restaurant is absolutely first-class
5 out of 5
by Donna from Bury St Edmunds

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for our wedding night, as got married on 23/04/16 and stayed fro 2 nights, great place to return for anniversary
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stopover 2

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Booked hotel but unsure of location at the time, needed a hotel with parking. Needn't have worried as the hotel was about ten minutes walk from the High Street. It was also very easy to connect to the main roads out when we left. Good room and very helpful staff made for an enjoyable stay and I would book the hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Gareth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Washington DC

Great hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Two nights sleeping 2 adults with 3 children in a single room - normally really stressful but here it worked really well and all the beds were comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels