Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient Location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Nice, safe hotel. Just a few blocks walk from everything. The restaurant had good food. The staff was very pleasant. I only stayed for one night, but it made a good impression and I will likely stay there again the next time I am in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

best of the umpteen hotels in Cheltenham I've used

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: excellent location, convivial staff, comfortable room, still has such a thing as a single room, an Independent
Cons: room was 'generously' warm but period-style window rattled a lot when open - woke me up during the night. I should have put a paper wedge in or such
Location: perfect location for visiting central Cheltenham - leave the car there & walk everywhere
excellent location, convivial staff, very comfortable room. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant. Having been visiting Cheltenham quite often for the last couple of years, but not likely to be doing so again for the foreseeable future, I wish I'd found this first time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A charming place

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Only good things to say about this place. Very friendly staff, who take the trouble to get to know you. Elegantly furnished public areas, clean and comfortable rooms, and excellent food. Good value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia Md

Beautiful classic hotel near downtown Cheltenham

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The great breakfast and period features. Also the location.
Cons: As mentioned earlier, no lifts but that has to be expected - not really a problem.
Location: Cheltenham is on the edge of the Cotswolds so there is obviously plenty of scope for exploration of the countryside.
Lovely older hotel with many original features still intact. Excellent continental breakfast buffet with plenty of good coffee and you could order a full English breakfast, all included. Short walk to downtown Cheltenham. Enjoyed staying in a period property but there are no lifts so beware if stairs are a problem. We were able to manage our luggage but staff offered their help a couple of times. There is also parking so nice not to have to worry about that. We enjoyed our stay and will likely stay there again on our next visit. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Lovely old home with lots of character

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Homey and comfortable. Very nice breakfast
My daughters and I stayed there for 2 nights. The location was in a quiet neighborhood but within walking distance to the city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Great staff and location. Would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Very nice and convenient to downtown

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Character of the building, immaculate cleanliness, friendly.
Cons: Weather was cool and pleasant during our stay but there did not seem to be A/C--might get warm on a warm day.
Location: Near to Promenade, Imperial Gardens, High Street, many restaurants.
Spent one night during a tour of the Cotswold area. The hotel is on a very quiet street adjoining a green square. Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Room was nice--larger than some small British hotels--extremely clean, very modern bathroom. One big window overlooking Clarence Square. Also has its own small car park so parking was easy. The included breakfast had everything from full English to fruit and pastry. Easy walk into the downtown area. The steps are pretty steep (no elevator) but the proprietor carried the luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in pleasant area.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming to both us and our dogs. The room was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location but needs maintenance

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Arrived to a good looking Hotel in a great location. However I was then left trying to ring a wireless bell in the lobby unsure if anyone was hearing it, for about 10 minutes wondering if I was in the right entrance! Eventually a very nice chap came and checked me in and that was all pleasant. The room looked nice, even with a teddy on the bed to welcome me. The bed looked promising as did the nice big shower. However the bed was so creaky I kept waking during the night every time I rolled over! Then awoke to have a shower and discovered the showered fluctuated in pressure and kept making odd noises which made for a nervous and non very relaxing shower. Thankfully the breakfast and the staff were all lovely, and they did make note of my comments about the creaky bed...but didn't offer any remuneration for a lost night's sleep. I won't be returning to find out if anything was done about Clarence's Creaky Bed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Handy for town, but could do with some updating

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Cons: Décor
Décor rather tired in both public rooms and bedroom. Friendly service, good breakfast.