Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

hotel perfect location to the town

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: It was in a perfect location.
Cons: Needed decorating
Location: It was only a 10 minute walk to the heart of the town, lots of nice wine bars and restaurants.
The hotel needed to be re decorated, it looked very tired and needed updating. The bed was comfortable, though we did request two single beds, which were confirmed and there was one double. Having no staff on the premises meant that there was no one to talk to about any queries. There was plenty of breakfast food in the fridge which was good, even though we didn't eat much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK as a last resort

Posted May 3, 2016
When I arrived I found that there was no parking so had to park in a NCP around 0.5 miles away, I am not sure if there is anything closer, but as there are no staff at the hotel there was nobody to ask. I got into my room easily using the instructions sent by the owner. I decided to make myself and my wife a cup of tea using the facilities provided only to find that the milk in the cartons next to the cups had gone off. The room itself was in need of modernisation, but for the money I guess it is only to be expected. If I find myself needing to visit Cheltenham again, then this would be a last resort hotel
2 out of 5
by Paul from Mildenhall

Poor

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very clean, but poor in every other respect. There appeared to be a seriously poor DIY attempt at electrical lighting above he beds, and generally the room was very unappealing. Yes it was cheap, but also cold and uncomfortable. The breakfast offering is terrible. There are no employees on site so issues can only be resolved by calling the owner which if late at night may not be desirable.
3 out of 5
by Sue from isle of wight

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel does what it says on the tin , no staff but nice clean spacious room , well stocked breakfast fridge , free wifi, beds a bit firm but lovely view from the window . Would I use again , definetly as liked the way you could come and go .
4 out of 5
by Glen from Hereford

Good value ...

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
When I asked to check in early Martin was brilliant , I will defiantly use this Hotel again .
4 out of 5
by Henry Gavin from Coventry

Good value for money

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Does what it say on the description. I had a good stay the bed was comfy, room was quite clean and the room is quite big as well. Only downside is breakfast which was really poor (expired canned food)
5 out of 5
by stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ian from York

Not what it says in the description......

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived on the Saturday morning and the on site parking was space for only 2 cars which was a big inconvenience as wasn't a lot of free on street parking. A code is emailed to gain entry to front door and into room door. Was a bit fiddly and might be hard for old people as the buttons are very stiff and hard to press. Room was ok. very small tv and the beds were like sleeping on a plank of wood and the pillows were not much better. Stay wasn't helped by the fact some of the plugs in the room (room 7) were connected to others in the house so when a grumpy old man from the room below kept coming and knocking on the door moaning that i had stopped his Television working it was annoying to say the least. The breakfast is an array for Tesco Value tins, packets of Porridge and very dodgy looking bread and yogurts left in the cupboard in the room. (couldn't bring myself round to trying them so went into the city for breakfast) Very noisy house with lots of traffic noise and very thin walls. Only plus point was location to Racecourse and The city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very poor service didn't end up staying as couldn't park the car in the car park or get in contact with staff/owner to discuss issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Comfortable homely hotel and value for money

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: There was a feeling that, despite not being seen, the owners wanted guests to have a really comfortable stay, provision of food/drink was generous
Cons: TV remote control a bit temperamental!
Location: It is in a quiet, residential crescent but is near the town centre. I was able to walk to a concert at Cheltenham Town Hall and to the station.
Worried about the lack of reception staff, I found entering both the hotel and room using the code system very easy. My room was spacious and comfortable. I require a gluten-free diet and had forgotten to ask about this so assumed I would have little to eat for breakfast. However, there was a bowl of fruit on the table and a generously stocked cupboard and fridge with plenty of alternatives such as yoghurts and cheese. There was also lots of coffee, tea, drinking chocolate, milk and orange juice. The bath and shower were easy to operate and I had a quiet peaceful night's sleep. Excellent value for money.