Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major cleanliness issue

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: No further comment
Cons: No further comment
Location: No further comment
Major cleanliness issue which was handled well by staff in emails afterwards. I hope it is resolved for future guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned but clean

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Basically it was cheap and fine for a single overnight stay.
We were in the garden suite, a euphemism for the basement at the back of the house. So it was pretty dark but on the other hand very quite as we were away from the busy road at the front. There are no staff on site so it's a DIY experience but all worked fine with the codes sent ahead by email.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Victorian rooms

Posted Jul 3, 2017
If you like your own space this is perfect. Owner very helpful and easy to contact
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands UK

At least it was a bed!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: It looked okay from the outside
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Located about 10 minutes walk from the centre and Promenade
Lovely looking hotel with very grand appearance which flattered to deceive. Our room was the grandly titled 'Garden Room' which was accessed down some basement steps in the back garden. A keypad code gained us access to a dingy corridor and then to our room. The door looked as though it had been kicked in and repaired fairly recently and the door itself rattled loosely in it's frame. We daren't leave anything of any value in the room. There was a fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle etc with some supplies (described as a continental breakfast) but the room was so pokey and dingy, we didn't feel like indulging. We did have a cup of tea before leaving. The bathroom was clean but old fashioned. We dropped off our stuff and went out with no intention of returning except to sleep since the room was no place to relax comfortably. The bed was a fold away bed which folded back into a wardrobe. It was reasonably comfortable though. Check out was by 10.00 am and, to be honest, we were pleased to be out of there. More of a flop house than a hotel. Possibly okay for contractors working locally.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So shabby it was almost chic !

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent free WiFi. The Regency building has many original features intact.
Cons: Key less access meant you needed a different code for every door.
Location: Close to Pittville Park and the Assembly Rooms. Gustav Holst museum is just around the corner and well worth a visit
Had a good nights sleep in this quiet, well located hotel. We didn't see any staff and the self catering breakfast was amusing.
2 out of 5
by Russell

Grim

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
I had low expectations, but I wish I had stayed a few miles out of town in a travel lodge, it was dated, very and the bed was basically a plank with a mattress, it was a few very small rooms and it was basically pretty grim. The lights went when I was there and the door was round the back past the bins, if you had any mobility issues you would struggle . I wont stay again ..I think you can do better elsewhere
4 out of 5
by Laura

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Although fairly basic it fitted my requirements and was very quiet. No doors being slammed or other guests being noisy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay en route to destination

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Outdated mismatch furniture Lumpy very uncomfortable beds Mouldy shower cubicle Continental style breakfast was ok Hallway leading to rooms had pieces of furniture in so had to be careful when walking to/from room Couldn't rate hotel staff as no one there! Keypad entry - however text received from a member of staff giving information and how to contact him if needs be On the plus side it was in a good location Won't stay here again though
4 out of 5
by Tim

Basic, clean, great value for money

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money at £47. But mattress was lumpy, could feel the wires so pretty uncomfortable. Breakfast very basic. Didn't even have marmalade!!!
3 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Visiting for Cheltenham Festival accom very difficult to get. Hotal was a means to an end and was what I expected. Wouldn't use it for staying with my wife, but OK for my needs.