Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value for the price

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Good evening meal, reasonably close to football ground.
Cons: Provide better quality sausage & softer butter.
Small but clean room, shower pressure a little low. Our room (no 3) was quiet but inn has no car park. Parking is however available in side streets. Decent evening meal but breakfast let down by cheap sausage & hard butter. Overall though decent value for the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east midlands

nice comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: location, price and friendliness
Cons: maybe a fan in the room on a hot day
Location: within walking distance of Cheltenham, an old spa town. plenty of eating places and lovely gardens not too far away.
close to where I needed to be, close to town, good value for money, very helpful staff, lovely flowers around hotel, good breakfast and comfortable clean room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Average room above a pub

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The staff were friendly enough and accommodating with requests at breakfast. The bedroom was OK and had enough towels, storage and extras (TV, hair dryer, iron). The bathroom was old and, although pretty clean, definitely needed updating due to mould. The worst bit about this hotel is the complete lack of parking nearby, the road parking was so full that I had to park about 5 minutes walk away, which is fine - but feels less secure for your car. In addition to this, the live music at the pub goes on to well past midnight and I found it very difficult to sleep because of this and because of the communal lighting in the hallway being so bright - it was very bright through a crack at the bottom of the door. All in all my stay was OK, if I'd paid £40 instead of £65 I probably would have been happier as I barely slept due to the noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Local pub, everything you can expect

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Did this stay for a short weekend when a childhood friend was getting married. The hotel sadisfied my every need. Even tho it is a few years old everything important is new. And on Sunday's it is the most awesome food stand outside. Made my day with some juicy pulled pork and slow cocked lamb!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice friendly clean hotel close to town centre

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Staff very friendly and nothing was too much, the kitchen is normally closed on a Sunday however the landlady quickly arranged for us to have some food on our arrival in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Close to Cheltenham

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The room was lovely and husband enjoyed the real ales on tap
Cons: Manager could have asked when we arrived if we were with the party and swapped us around immediately.
Location: Location great if you have University students in town. Great shops, cinema, restaurants
Hotel was clean and comfortable, BUT they have a function room right underneath bedrooms 1 - 4. They had an engagement party on the evening we stayed and the noise was horrendous. The floor vibrated and so did the bathroom fixtures, and the party was going on until 1am!!! I complained twice and was told that as I was an online booking they had no idea if I was with the party or not. If they had known they would have put us in one of the rooms above the quieter pub, rooms 5 - 8. The first time I complained the male manager said all the rooms were booked, when I complained the second time the female manager said if we had seen her a few minutes earlier she would have swapped us with a customer who was at the party!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Parking was a pain
4 out of 5
by Graeme from East Maitland

Cheltenham, a giod place to visit

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good location in a not a major city, friendly staff & good service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverley

Value for money

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
Whilst I would agree with some other Reviewers that the hotel should be a little clearer with their parking "arrangements" we could not fault the hotel(pub) in any other respect. The staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. the room (and en-suite) was clean, breakfast excellent. For the price (not Festival week!) no one should complain. I suppose we were fortunate that the local band were not practising whilst we were there! Would certainly use the place again if we are in the area.
4 out of 5
by Lynne from Southam

Good value, basic stay.

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
the room was adequate for one night, small but clean. We had an evening meal there, homemade and really nice, good price too. Had an excellent breakfast. The staff were all lovely and attentive. The music in the bar did not make for an early sleep, but it was a pub after all.The staff and food made up for that.