Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Average room above a pub

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The staff were friendly enough and accommodating with requests at breakfast. The bedroom was OK and had enough towels, storage and extras (TV, hair dryer, iron). The bathroom was old and, although pretty clean, definitely needed updating due to mould. The worst bit about this hotel is the complete lack of parking nearby, the road parking was so full that I had to park about 5 minutes walk away, which is fine - but feels less secure for your car. In addition to this, the live music at the pub goes on to well past midnight and I found it very difficult to sleep because of this and because of the communal lighting in the hallway being so bright - it was very bright through a crack at the bottom of the door. All in all my stay was OK, if I'd paid £40 instead of £65 I probably would have been happier as I barely slept due to the noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Local pub, everything you can expect

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Did this stay for a short weekend when a childhood friend was getting married. The hotel sadisfied my every need. Even tho it is a few years old everything important is new. And on Sunday's it is the most awesome food stand outside. Made my day with some juicy pulled pork and slow cocked lamb!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice friendly clean hotel close to town centre

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Staff very friendly and nothing was too much, the kitchen is normally closed on a Sunday however the landlady quickly arranged for us to have some food on our arrival in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Close to Cheltenham

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The room was lovely and husband enjoyed the real ales on tap
Cons: Manager could have asked when we arrived if we were with the party and swapped us around immediately.
Location: Location great if you have University students in town. Great shops, cinema, restaurants
Hotel was clean and comfortable, BUT they have a function room right underneath bedrooms 1 - 4. They had an engagement party on the evening we stayed and the noise was horrendous. The floor vibrated and so did the bathroom fixtures, and the party was going on until 1am!!! I complained twice and was told that as I was an online booking they had no idea if I was with the party or not. If they had known they would have put us in one of the rooms above the quieter pub, rooms 5 - 8. The first time I complained the male manager said all the rooms were booked, when I complained the second time the female manager said if we had seen her a few minutes earlier she would have swapped us with a customer who was at the party!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverley

Value for money

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
Whilst I would agree with some other Reviewers that the hotel should be a little clearer with their parking "arrangements" we could not fault the hotel(pub) in any other respect. The staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. the room (and en-suite) was clean, breakfast excellent. For the price (not Festival week!) no one should complain. I suppose we were fortunate that the local band were not practising whilst we were there! Would certainly use the place again if we are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, noisy,noisy!

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Cheap and breakfast included.
Cons: Review the policy of when children are allowed in the pub and when they have to leave. Feel sorry for your neighbours.
Location: Not too bad considering price. About 20 - 25 mins walk to town centre.
Children playing, shouting and screaming in the beer garden up until midnight? crazy!!! I was shattered when I woke up the next morning. Staff where pleasant enough though. Rooms where clean and quite well equiped (Soaps, shampoos, tea/coffee, even an iron and hair dryer).
4 out of 5
by Peter from Ringwood

Great Pub Food

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night to attend a football match. A good value single in a popular local pub. I stayed in a small en-suite single room which was very comfortable. The only downside is there is only street parking.
5 out of 5
by mark from Swansea

A* service. superb brekkie

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Service was A☆basic rooms but does the job. Breakfast was good. Recommend
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and pleasant.Good staff Pity that our en suite was not actually in the bedroom.