Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second stay at your hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The front doors, location to food and beverage.
Cons: Parking is a bit tight
Location: Good places to eat and drink. Close to shopping.
Very nice. Love the front doors, I'm pleased they are listed. Wonderful place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too hot for sleeping

Posted May 9, 2017
Our room was on the 3rd floor and even though the bed was wonderfully comfy, clean in a good location for us we could not sleep because it was so hot in our room. It was 11 degrees outside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel, but room like an oven

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: The air conditioning, the locks on the window and some training for the staff.
Air conditioning in the room was pathetic and the windows don't open resulting in a room like a an oven. I barely slept due to the heat. In addition, the shower was so small that you have to stand sideways and crouch to get under the shower head. When I told the staff, they just said "I'm sorry about that" and carried on with checking me out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warks

Designer style, dubious substance

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Avoid room 118 at the front above reception, very noisy from: the sound system below, other guests on the stairs, running water to other rooms, drunk people and traffic in the street. Also poorly insulated for light: floodlights seep in at the top of the curtains and the door doesn't fit properly. Mould around the sink plughole, shower floods the bathroom floor if not careful. £200 a night for this, really?! Staff confessed a refurb was due... hmm, funny that. Dinner was expensive for very average food, bland lobster risotto (£22) and dry burger (£16). Had run out of specific drink asked for, olives (?!) and our desired dessert. We had planned to stay for 2 nights but after a sleepless night asked for a different room, were shown to an interior bedsit-style deconstructed bathroom affair yet no discount offered? Final straw: we cut our losses and left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel was great. Only a short walk into Cheltenham (about 10 - 15 minutes), this is definitely somewhere we would stay again. Free parking at the hotel was a plus, as this meant we didn't have to worry about the car when we were there. The rooms were spacious and bright, with lots of pleasing additional features including bath oil for the bath, speakers in the bathroom, heated mirror (always a sign of a good hotel!), complementary celebrations and water, robes and slippers. The staff were friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely trendy hotel right in the heart of town

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Location, on site car parking, great value for money
Cons: Seemed a shortage of staff in the evening around the bar area.
Great location, short walk to the shops, bars and restaurant in the Montpelier area. Room was well equipped, comfy bed, good shower and and strong wifi. Bar and restaurant all very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My husband and I stayed at the Malmaison for two nights. We would definitely stay here again as the hotel was very comfortable and quiet. We weren't able to check in at 3pm, which was difficult because we had flown in to the U.K. earlier in the day, however we were offered a drink and were upgraded.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, newly re-furbished; comfortable room and welcoming staff at reception. Good breakfasts to start off the day and sociable lounge and bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Great hotel located in the heart of Cheltenham

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: They greeted my wife with a birthday card and upgraded our room
Fantastic hotel looks great from the outside but still very modern in the inside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

.stunning Regency building..dussapointing stay.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: We had a meal in the restaurant in night one, which was fine, but not outstanding....our breakfasts on both mornings were good, staff overall pleasant
Cons: Reception could be welcoming, ., bedrooms need comfort, the bar needs to be guest friendly, it was souless. Info on the house should be available.
Location: Take a stroll, shopping.
Reception, just a wooden ball, Lovely wood, reception NO.silly....upgraded to de lux room, lovlely comfy bed, seating was awful, wooden chairs, room was not cleaned after first night, bins not emptied even after complaining re non cleaning..my husbands big birthday treat...went to bar fir drink before dinner, his tiple is Famous Grouse whisky,they served only special whiskys, he had lagger...not good enough, my drink Vodka and tonic, he was told they serve doubles,I did get a single tho.we ate out of he hotal on night two, where he could have his celebration drink.at no point during our stay could we find any information on the history of the beautiful building we were staying at or if the area, what a shame... No I wouldnit return to this hotel and sadly would not recommend it either.....