Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Excellent hotel in great walking area

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: An excellent hotel in beautiful surroundings - very good food and pleasant and helpful staff. History of hotel was of much interest and good walks.
Cons: A sŵimming pool would be nice.
Location: Convenient as a base for walks and touring
We were a party of six pensioners and we're all totally satisfied with service and holiday overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Nice historical hotel in lovely surroundings.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: I like the quietness of the place. No loud music blaring out! Very good food.
Cons: With such a high sided bath a grab rail on wall would help getting in and out for shower for us old stiff people!
Location: As I only stay overnight I enjoy the walk along canal and visiting church if it is open!
As before - helpful welcome - case carried to room etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Wedding guest

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Oldie worldy,nice gardens.
Cons: Bedrooms need revamp they let the hotel down.
Location: Nice location, lovely gardens and canal walks
Wedding reception was good and food great. Room needed some desperate attention. Bathroom floor was moving as tiles were needing grouting, needed a revamp decor etc. Hotel nice but let down by rooms. Breakfast ok but took a while to be served. No real reception just a girl at the computer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Stonehouse Court Hotel review

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Most things were very nice.
Cons: Mobility access needs to be improved.
We stayed one night and were pleased overall. Our only negative comment is that our room was down a very long series of confusing corridors and was not what we needed after a long and tiring journey. We were not informed of this when booking and for people with any kind of mobility issue this would have been a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

One night stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness generally and refurbishment.
Location: Great walk along the canal path accessed from hotel garden. The best part of this visit.
We only stayed for one night but were disappointed with the room. It was probably the furthest room from reception up and down stairs and through corridoors which to be honest could have done with a good clean. It smelled very fausty! ! Our bathroom was in need of refurbishment but the towels were nice and thick. Breakfast was busy but the waiting staff were doing their best and did apologise for the wait. The food was just ok but the coffee is awful. We stayed in January last year and had a nice room in the Manor House and enjoyed the trip hence our return last week but sadly standards have slipped which is such a shame as it is a lovely looking building in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Stroud

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lovely staff very helpful We were in the annex so would have preferred the old part Spacious room and clean Bed wasn't top notch Bar drinks a bit on the expensive side Breakfast spot on
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesnt deliver

Posted Apr 9, 2017
This hotel promises great things - architecturally stunning but sadly doesn't deliver. Rooms are basic and the bathrooms poor. A 3 star standard and definitely not worthy of £140 a night. The majority of the staff are young and inexperienced with the exception of the barman. The continental breakfast is very poor. The cooked better. Not value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

staff very friendly

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were warm and fiendly and the food was lovely.
Cons: The decor in the older part of the hotel.
The older part of the hotel needs an upgrade - the curtains need replacing, along with some of the windows and the shower in our room didn't work properly. The newly refurbished part of the hotel, where our original room was located, was too small and the window was minute. However, the food was lovely and the staff couldn't have done any more. They were very helpful and friendly. With a little bit of a face lift, the hotel would be lovely. It is lovely and warm and very comfortable, with very welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex

Excellent hotel for a stay in the Stroud area

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Very quiet, excellent Wifi quality, and a very nice breakfast.
Cons: Some interior décor - both in rooms and passages starting to look a little worn, but this is minor.
Sprawling hotel on the outskirts of Stroud. Some great historic character, with plenty of recent extensions. Set well back from the main road, so outside noise was negligible - and internal noise was minimal due to guests seemingly being well spaced.
2 out of 5
by Graeme

Unimpressed

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night for a wedding and chose one of the "better" rooms in the main building. I had a "discounted" with a double including breakfast for £125, which was way overpriced for the quality of room we had. Breakfast menu was misleading. I ordered "Grilled Whole Kipper" what came was straight out of a boil in the bag yellow piece of fish which I presumed was meant to be a kipper - it went straight back. When you choose your Full English from the items on the menu - you will get one of each - no more unless you specify e.g. mushrooms plural. Won't be going back