Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need more improvments

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Room good size
Cons: Noise level
Location: Good
There was no clean cup plus glasses and bathrooms things or complete
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy location but decent rooms..

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The Big Sleep is worth staying at if it prices remain competitive. It's rooms are fine, and come with a large TV, tea making facilities and proper free and easy wifi - as opposed to the sort where you have to open an account and give an email address. The downside of the hotel is that it is in a noisy part of town where kids are permitted to drink in the streets outside of pubs rather than in them. Result - expect much screaming and shouting to disturb you throughout the night. One other surprise was that our shower didn't work for the ten minutes a neighbouring room was using theirs in the morning rush hour. There also isn't a healthy breakfast option, just cooked English breakfast ,no fruit which I consider . very 1980s and which is odd for a hotel which likes to think of itself as modern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Convienient parking, good breakfast and nice service staff (a part from the experience described above)
Cons: Customer service
I had an issue with the online pre payment through Expedia, I thought I'd pre payed (the funds were taken from my bank account and my reciept states that the hotel had received the payment) I was asked for payment on arrival. I pointed out the fact that I'd pre paid but the hotel staff were having non of it, I contacted Expedia, requested a refund (which was processed) and payed the hotel with cash. My main issue was on leaving feedback while i was still in the hotel room - I received a call from the reception staff seconds after submitting the feedback (from who I believe was the on duty supervisor) who was quiet direct/aggressive/rude in response to my feedback, until i diffused the conversation. On arrival it was also apparent that my booking had been processed twice, the nice girl at reception thought I'd booked two rooms (probably why they believed I still needed to pay for one booking) the (presumably) supervisor didn't hesitate to point the mistake out indicating the the staff member and her colleague had made a mistake, it was an in proffectional handling of the situation in front of the customer, awkward. It was a strange experience staying at the Big Sleep, one I will not be repeating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Nice hotel close to the city centre

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Close to city centre
Cons: No
Location: High street around the corner. There were plenty of bars and restaurants. Nice Park nearby
The hotel was welcoming. Quickly checked in. Room clean and spacious. Close to the city high street. Breakfast was included in our stay which was good. Good value for money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Easy and good value

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The decor is out dated and a bit too basic but met my needs
Location: Very close to the centre, easy walking distance to restaurants and shops, I can really recommend the Thai Family restaurant.
I was looking for a good value hotel to stay in whilst I was attending a course at a business in the middle of Cheltenham and the Big Sleep fitted the bill. It was very near the centre and near some nice restaurants which suited me. The parking was convenient but you need to get their early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Central Hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Very good price. paired down interiors but very clean and comfortable.Large towels. Nice bedding. The breakfast far exceeded expectations.
Location: Very accessible for shops and restaurants .
No hassle . Garage car parking for only £7 .Reception check in very easy. Free wifi.Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Bath Spa

Close to the center of town

Posted Dec 20, 2015
My room was gorgeous, I've had the same one twice now, other hotels in Cheltenham will always be my second choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london uk

Excellent city break

Posted Dec 4, 2015
I stayed with my daughter for one night in Cheltenham and found the hotel ideal for a city break. Our twin too was well equipped , tidy and comfortable - my only quibble more pillows on the beds please. Breakfast was served and there was a good selective of foods available including gluten free bread for me
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, but not without issues

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Comfy bed, decent-sized room, but it stank of the previous occupant having smoked in it, and the windows were wide open when we arrived at 1am so it was also freezing! Without the smoke issue, I'd recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bury

Hotel was cheap and cheerful .

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Central and very near the Grape Escape
Cons: A client should not have 10:30 as deadline given check in is 15:00
Location: Excellent
Hotel had a lot of threats on 10:30 am get out re room , garage and lift out of order. Breakfast was basic and depended on the attentiveness of the kitchen staff. Parking spaces in the garage are a challenge