Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Excellent hotel, situated in stunning countryside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Cancelled another hotel to book this one

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Tired, dusty and bland - this covers every aspect of this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Needs a bit of TLC but lovely

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The spa facilities and the staff are fantastic. The rooms are spacious and clean and well equipped. The restaurant food is lovely and had good option. The bar is good too. Generally ok priced.
Cons: The room needed a bit of a touch up with pain in the bedroom and bathroom. Not in a bad state but just a bit of TLC or updating needed.
Location: We stayed because we were going to Cheltenham Racecourse and this hotel was only 20 min drive from the course. Don't know anything else close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful break, great place for escapism!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The spa was truly amazing, with excellent treatments
Cons: N/A
Location: N/A
Beautiful location, spacious room, all required facilities, excellent spa treatments, superb service, value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Staff go the extra mile

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Not sure I would visit Gloucester City again, although the dock area interesting. Plenty of beautiful countryside nearby and lovely villages.
Perfectly comfortable hotel for leisure or business traveller. A few nice touches in the room, like a pull out hot drinks station and fridge. The staff were friendly and observant and noticed they could do a couple of small things to help without being asked. I am not sure I would have dinner here again as it was quite expensive and not particularly good. Breakfasts were good but staffing levels quite low
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
All was nice at the hotel but the fire alarms went off at 4am and then stopped not ideal. We had come away to get a full nights sleep as we have a baby but this didn't happen, disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
clean and tidy, friendly environment. Well balanced meals, excellent facilites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Lovely comfortable hotel

Posted May 28, 2016
We had a great time. Staff very helpful room and food good too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing overnight stay

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
Cons: Customer service and cleanliness are two basic requirements that must be changed if the hotel are to carry out other conventions/parties.
Location: Handy location off the M5 but would need a car to access anything of interest close by.
We decided to have a surprise night away here as I had experienced a nice stay previously. We were met by a very full car park and a stressed front of house manager who explained they were fully booked and had a "Bridge convention". We found it difficult to get out of the lift on the 1st floor due to equipment for "Bridge convention" placed everywhere. Our room was fine. We then went to the bar, my partner waited around 20mins to be served whilst I cleared & cleaned down a table in a busy bar. Staff were running around & everyone was stressed. We decided to get away from the mayhem and return to our room. Later on we returned to the bar to repeat the same process as before. We had booked a table in the restaurant, as the queue was so long we waited in the busy bar. At dinner we were taken to a half laid table, given menu's and left for about 15mins, 35mins after sitting down we received our drinks, luckily as we didn't have starters we got our cold food within 50mins of seating. Everyone else around us were complaining. We didn't as we were trying to have a nice evening and if we had, I don't see what the solution could have been apart from making our night worse than it already was. We went down for breakfast at 9am, a waiter arrived eventually and found it very difficult to find us a seat, food service areas were dirty, half empty and generally awful. It was an expensive overnight experience that I would not want to repeat & could have been so easily changed by more staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

A well located hotel 5 miles from Cheltenham town

Posted May 5, 2016
The hotel was hosting a Bridge Tournament and the attendees all seemed oblivious of other hotel guests and blocked the lifts and first floor hotel corridors which was very inconvenient for other hotel guests Breakfast was an interesting experience with staff not knowing who had ordered what hot food pand grunting at tables to see if anyone recognised their orders