Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great location dog friendly hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The location and size of the room the welcome offered to dogs made for a comfortable stay.
Cons: A place to hang your towels after use would be a great improvement.
Location: The hotel is on the main road through painswick and opposite the church bell ringing practice could be heard which we liked.
Painswick is such a pretty place and the location opposite the church is perfect. If you are a walker and dog owner this is the place for you. Staff all friendly and helpful . Our room was spacious and comfortable. I would not say it was spotless but as dogs obviously stay here one could not complain. The room rate is very good value. There are numerous walks from the doorstep. We ate dinner and breakfast both were well cooked and served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Lovely old hotel in pretty village.
Location: Very picturesque village.
Lovely old hotel - we enjoyed our short stay. Breakfast was enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Welcome warm, but room cold

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location. Staff.
Cons: Shower and lighting
Location: Quaint village. Beautiful surroundings for walking in.
Disappointed by the cold room on arrival - extra heater ( provided) had to blast to make it comfortable. We felt heating should have been put on prior to arrival. Room was clean and bed comfortable but a number of lights not working. Shower was difficult to learn how to make it function and drained poorly. On the plus side, the staff were very helpful and food good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Pleasant Stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Very convenient for the beautiful Cotswolds.
The room was comfortable, but the facilities were not modern. The staff were helpful and freindly and made the experience a good one. The hotel is right on the edge of the main A46 road that runs through the village. The single glazed windows mean that the lorries passing just 2 or 3 metres away are too loud for optimum sleeping conditions. If we book again, we would request a room that does not face the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur, GA, USA

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
In the center of a small Cotswold village. Well-situated for walks around the town. Restaurant was quite good, but don't be in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Perfect Cotswold stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We arrived at the Falcon and were delighted with this experience from start to finish. The hotel is beautiful with all of the Cotswold charm we'd imagined, and the host and staff were so welcoming and helpful. We stayed with our 2 daughters, ages 7 and 9, and enjoyed some amazing food and dining all around. Would most definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Flying at the Falcon

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Excellent friendly and helpful staff and owner. Quality of meals were very good with varied Menu. Prompt service. Decor and fittings of hotel were very coordinated and added to the nice feel of the accommodation. Minor failing is that the cleanliness of the room in particular the bathroom was disappointing. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice with a lovely view over a pretty village. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good location to explore Cotswolds.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping (towel changing). Noisy duvets. Better prep at breakfast.
Location: Good location to visit Broadway, Lacock, Cirencester, Wotten etc. Beautiful church opposite.
Good location with pleasant views of area. Breakfast tables not set for number of residents and shortage of some produce eg: sausages. Room adequate, bearing in mind age of property, but bed duvet was very noisy (rustled at every movement). Towels not changed daily meaning still damp in the evening. Otherwise staff and food good and accept nothing could be done about traffic noise. Would consider staying again for one night but not as longer term base for touring.
5 out of 5
by Praveen

Very tastefully furnished. Excellent service.

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Superb hotel. Very tastefully decorated. Highly recommended