Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thin walls - could hear snooring in the next room

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Nice atmosphere in the bar, nice friendly staff, modern comfortable decor.
Cons: The thickness of the walls - some sort of soundproofing must be possible. Also scrub those toilets and clean the bathroom floor.
Location: Cirencester is quaint and nice to potter around and close to Cheltenham and the Cotswolds.
This is a lovely pub with a really nice atmosphere and lovely comfortable rooms with modern decor. The bathroom floor was pretty mucky and the toilet stained below the waterline which was a bit off-putting. The worth though was the fact that I could hear snooring from teh room next door so clearly that it seemed like the person was in the room with me. I got very little sleep and was too tired to go to breakfast in the morning - preferring another 30 mins in bed. I would only stay if I knew that I was in a room with thick walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Enjoyable and comfortable stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Nice quiet and comfortable room. Very good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

character hotel in heart of Cirencester

Posted Aug 6, 2016
great atmosphere and lovely helpful staff. Buzzing bar and good food. Rooms were not huge but full of character and absolutely fine. Hotel is on high street so very convenient. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Virgin Islands

Central hotel with character

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The quaintness of the hotel - as seen on the picture of the exterior - and yet the rooms were very modern.
We were only there for 1 night, but were very happy with our stay. We had a lovely room on the top floor. It was a bit of a walk up the windy stairs (no lift because it is a lovely old English hotel) - but we did not mind. Had no complaints. The hotel was charming and very central - so we could walk to everything. Before we arrived we were a bit concerned about parking, but we had no trouble getting in to the small, but adequate, parking area behind the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Break in the Cotswolds

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Wonderful stay at the fleece - perfect hotel in every way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, busy central hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Don't stay here if you want to get some sleep. My phone was missing from the room so found myself calling to reception on my mobile phone. Busy but lovely staff. Breakfast very nice and included in rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHESHIRE

A SHADOW OF ITS FORMER SELF

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Consideration for residents, the choices available on the continental breakfast table, the mattress in Room 29, ventilation in the corridors and more.
Location: Self evident. Cirencester is the capital of the cotswolds.
Unable to find a space where residents can sit out, I approached the manager who informed me that the Fleece is 'A pub with rooms' . It was evident that the traditional comforts of a hotel have been given up; the entire ground floor space is allocated to food and drink. To give it its due, it is described as an inn to people off the street and that is how it should appear to Expedia customers too and not as a traditional hotel. It is too expensive for a 'pub with rooms' and unworthy of a 5star AA rating in my view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Great place. Very central. Gorgeous room.

Posted May 30, 2016
Right in the centre of Cirencester. We stayed here a few days ago and were very impressed. The room was huge and really well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. We didn't hear any noise from the pub up in the room. We got a cheap deal as well, so couldn't fault the value for money. I would highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anglesey

Nice hotel, lovely room.

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Hotel was very central in town, no need for taxis, everything within walking distance.
Cons: Can't really think of anything, it was just lovely.
Location: In town on high street, plenty of places to eat and great shops to wander around. Close to Cotswold villages for sight seeing.
Great place to stay, very clean and comfortable, staff very obliging, nothing was too much trouble! Will definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Great town centre location

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Stayed over the new year to visit family living in Cirencester. The Fleece is ideally situated for the town and we left the car in the hotel car park for the entire visit. The hotel has been sympathetically updated to give a modern feel while retaing it's old world charm. Bedroom was a good size and comfortable. Excellent shower over bath in en-suite. Food also good. The staff were very willing but seemed a little undermanned at times, particularly as the same people were serving food and drinks and manning the hotel reception desk on the end of the bar. Overall a good experience and I would stay at this hotel again.