Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Centrally located.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Friendly and welcoming, centrally located, great breakfast (included in the price) - and a nice bar!
Cons: Impossible, no doubt, in a XVI century building but a lift would be good!
Location: Almost at the 'town crossing', Eastgate, Westgate etc, brilliant Cathedral but a stones throw away. A good mix of shops in Town
Arrived too early for check - in but helpful staff completed the paperwork and allowed me to leave my luggage. A useful 'plus point' . First impressions were of a medieval coaching inn and that is just what it was! And still is - an Inn, that is!! The downside? There is no lift and, with a room on the 2nd floor, that was a bit of a challenge!! My en-suite single room was comfortable, warm (radiator), and the bathroom (with walk in shower) was in good order. However, a little 'crowded' with extraneous furniture! Attention needs to be paid to the curtains!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Beware Saturday night karaoke till midnight. Expect an inn built in 1455.
3 out of 5
by Garry from Australia

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Used gloucester as base to explore cotswolds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A história tem um preço

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Por ser muito antigo pode ser meio chocante. Como muitos deste tipo não tem elevador, vc sobe c suas malas, estacionamento .O carpete sujo e coco de pombos não ajudam
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Utter neglect

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was filthy: Bird faeces covered most of the exterior surfaces and the whole place had a feel of neglect. The room had two windows, both of which were covered in dust, and only one of which had a net curtain so you could see the alley way below, again encrusted with bird faeces. For some reason all the towels were placed in the room instead of the bathroom There was a Blues festival, so the hotel had live music until 12 midnight, which invariably overran, and it was 1pm by the time it was quiet. No regard for any guests staying at the hotel. In the morning at breakfast the only words spoken were "room number?" I last stayed at this hotel three years ago and nothing has been done to improve it in any way. The owners are apparently Relaxinnz who clearly find it more important to boast about the number of hotels than customer satisfaction. If they themselves renovated at least one room every six months it might show their commitment, but if this is an example of how they run all their properties then I would avoid them all
4 out of 5
by Natasha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Graham from Chichester

Typical old English hostelry

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Just one night but staying in a suite. Really lovely time. Will stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rainhil, Merseyside

Good overnight stop

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The New Inn is a very picturesque hotel. We were pleasantly surprised entering the courtyard on arrival. We had 106, a family room, which was clean and spacious. The restaurant was closed due to an electrical problem so we had a bar meal which was enjoyable and represented good value. On the Friday night we stayed, the hotel had a live band playing in the courtyard which could cause a problem for some. Loud music may not be to everyone's liking. We were told that parts of the hotel date back to the 14 century. The biggest downer was the lack of parking, although a car park was a short walk away and only cost £3 for 24hours.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
What a proper lovely Gloucester barmaid so friendly an nice having a laugh with all the locals.