Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Beautiful spot

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Restaurant meals
Rather small room otherwise good.breafast goodI by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Very comfortable hotel next to a golf course.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The staff, the food, the informality and the dog friendliness
Cons: The hotel is very old and you therefore have to have to accept some of the idiosyncrasies of sloping floors, low ceilings and small doorways. All add
Location: The hotel is adjacent (within 20metres) to the Common Golf Course. It is in the middle of a vast common on which cows graze right up to the hotel gate
Very friendly welcome, excellent food - some of the best hotel food we have experienced - good, helpful staff. Informal and relaxed atmosphere. Very dog friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and comfy room,OKish staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The Old Lodge is situated in a beautiful area and you really get to experience the Cotswolds countryside. The room was clean and comfortable with nice views of the fields and the cows (!). However, the staff as we arrived were not very responsive - we were standing by the pub's bar (the rooms are within the pub) with our suitcases trying to get someone's attention with staff members ignoring us. Also, we tried the pub's food and although it was decent, again the service was mediocre with some rude waiters. Breakfast can improve too, it was too oily and half an hour late but the waiter was surprisingly very polite. Overall it was a good stay but the staff (including senior management) needs re-training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW Australia

Cotswold in brief

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Charming place to spend a few nights Staff were young but had enthusiasm with service
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: Lower Cotswolds - beautiful countryside. Lovely villages in the area.
Great location on the common.....cattle roaming freely around. Hotel was wonderful - lovely garden to have a drink in the evening. All aspect of the establishment were wonderful. Highly recommend this place if staying in the lower Cotswolds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Great views, on Minchinhampton common

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: lovely setting, open countryside all around
Very helpful staff, great food - had the evening meal as well as the breakfast. Stayed in room 1 which is very spacious with a good sized en suite and also has beautiful views over the common. Stayed here several times and has never disappointed. Excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location for a getaway!

Posted May 3, 2016
Just brilliant!! Friendly staff, great food! Lovely atmosphere.. Will definitely be returning.. Thanks guys
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Overall fantastic hidden gem!!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Great first impression first arriving only to continue the experience right until the moment I left. Room, service, food, staff, nights sleep all great!!! Then there was the breakfast!! Without doubt one of the best full breakfasts I've had with all localy sourced produced that was so clear from taste. The girl in the morning didn't catch her name was polite and friendly and very helpful. A true asset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Stayed over Xmas, 3 nights. Great breakfast, fantastics views. Highly recommend! Many thx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Stayed for Christmas

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Location was the hotel's best feature.
Cons: Warning clients that when booking room 5, not to expect anything like the pictures of bedrooms showing on the web site
Location: Beautifully rural and isolated on Rodborough Common
Hotel overall was ok. Room was tiny, I'd imagine it was previously a store room. The floor was so uneven that it affected walking around the room. Also very hot and the en-suite was like a sauna. Heating was seemingly not controllable. To be fair we didn't pay premium rates so couldn't have expected too much, although I would have liked to have been made aware of the room's shortcomings in advance of arrival. From pictures we saw, room 5 is nothing like the other bedrooms which look very comfortable and clean. Room 5 is clearly not purpose built as a bedroom, but then it's probably not priced in line with the other rooms either. All else was ok, food was good, location is fantastic otherwise run of the mill really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Good hotel on Common

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: The position and being well looked after by the staff.
Cons: No idea.
Location: Our reason for staying there was to go to Slimbridge WWT which was about 13 miles away.
Made to feel welcome. Room and bathroom very clean. Food very good and very attentive staff. Good choice for breakfast,