Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fan, but not of the fan

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The food was the best part - the breakfast and dinner were excellent and the wines superb.
Cons: The room seemed designed only for a short stay by businessmen with little luggage. There were no drawers for underwear and private things. The was no space in bathroom for one's toiletries /makeup and the glass shelf was placed too near the bijou basin so that tooth brushing meant either getting one's head knocked by the shelf or getting toothpaste everywhere. In any the shelf was loose and tilted at an angle so that everything fell off. Because it was for businessmen there were no tissues or amenities like shower hats, cotton buds - things you usually find in boutique hotels. THe television was not tuned up to date and there was no sound on ITV. The lighting was too poor to read a book - the best light was above a painting. There was good water daily - very good, but no extras like biscuits which you would expect as normal. The flex of the kettle was very short built -in so that it was impossible to fill up cups without unplugging the kettle which involved grovelling on ones knees and negotiating the wrought iron under what was an old treadle sewing machine - there were no plugs where one did not have to get on the floor under something. There were coffee pods but no machine to activate them. The worse thing for me was fan in the bathroom which never stopped and woke me continually.
Location: Stow on the Wold - the Cotswolds - too much to do to write here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Excellent venue, great location. Food and staff...superb.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, MEXICO

Great stay at the Porch House

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: We stayed in room 1, with a comfortable king size bed, a big sitting area. The room was lovely, with no views. The included breakfast was really good.
Cons: The bath did not have a curtain, when we took showers, we splashed water everywere.
Location: Many antique stores and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Kingston, Ont

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Top of the line
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk around the historic town
Close to centre of the town. Beautiful rooms very well appointed. Excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Staff were friendly and over stretched, water pressure was very low in bathroom but i was informed that the whole hotel was having a total refurb this year
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Simon from Chester

Great service and even better soon.

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels
Easy booking system by phone to Hotels.com (no I've no connection!). Stayed 2 nights for Cotswold walking break. Breakfast excellent, evening meal very good too & reasonable price. Room comfortable but shower so powerful it hurt! Turn the pressure down and save money! Staff most welcoming. A charming and relaxing 'rabbit warren' but closing for complete refurb the weekend after we left. Hope to stay again in due course. If anyone finds the cushion I left behind there's a reward!
3 out of 5
by Rob from Basingstoke

Poor stay

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels
staff were not very friendly or helpful, there was no explanation regarding restaurant or meals. The breakfast was appalling some of which was inedible. This was an unhappy stay for us as we had been looking forward to staying here for along time.
5 out of 5
by gareth1969 from Solihull, UK

Good one night stay

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent character hotel in the heart of Stow-on-the-Wold. Room small but big enough and very clean and comfortable. Very friendly service and excellent cooked breakfast. Recommended.
3 out of 5
by Derek from North Yorkshire, U.K.

The Royalist, not very Royal.

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Sorry, not much.
Cons: The Royalist advertised car parking, it was full with 6 cars and 1 motorbike, had to park on the main road.
Location: The only positive, Stow-On-The-Wold.is a beautiful town.
This hotel dates from AD 947 and is the oldest pub in England and appears to have the original carpets and furniture. It is due to be closed for a complete refurbishment, and not before time!