Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from herts

Porch House and The Sheep

Posted May 14, 2017
Cons: Communication between kitchen and bar staff. Booking system.
Booked the Porch via expedia but was transferred to The Sheep as fully booked. Had lunch at Porch which was forgotten in kitchen and left for over half an hour. Totally dried out but no replacement offered as kitchen then closed. Although Porch was not understaffed, the restaurant at The Sheep was understaffed (same owners !) and evening meal took over two hours for two courses ( we gave up on trying to order dessert) Perhaps a family run hotel would have given better service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Nearly Great

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Old school, not generic, homely, historical
Cons: See above - consistency, communication, professionalism, customer service among younger staff - BUT above all, having experienced management on site
Location: Wonderful old Cotswold town - whether you want to pub crawl, shop for antiques, walk in the country, live history...it has it all
Recommended to me, what was not to like about the Porch House? Well, with the manager on holiday and the assistant manager away for a couple of days, it was - no offense - in the hands of (forgive me, I'm now officially old) kids. So when the shower didn't work properly it was handled as well as it possibly could but I only found this out upon leaving. When I arrived at the bar 30 minutes before closing only to be told - with some attitude - "it was quiet night so we've cashed up, you can't buy a drink", it all ended well but not without unnecessary drama. My review would have been poor but for the fact that when I checked out there was an acknowledgement of the issues, an apology and a generous rebate. IF this same great customer service had been consistent throughout the issues, then it would be a 5/5 review. Anyway, lovely, historical, homely place. And special shout out to stand in manager Launa who was just great. I would cautiously return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Wonderful stay in the Porch House for a long weekend. Restaurant was lovely and food amazing for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

simply wonderful

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
fabulous atmosphere,great staff, quaint wonderful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A fan, but not of the fan

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The food was the best part - the breakfast and dinner were excellent and the wines superb.
Cons: The room seemed designed only for a short stay by businessmen with little luggage. There were no drawers for underwear and private things. The was no space in bathroom for one's toiletries /makeup and the glass shelf was placed too near the bijou basin so that tooth brushing meant either getting one's head knocked by the shelf or getting toothpaste everywhere. In any the shelf was loose and tilted at an angle so that everything fell off. Because it was for businessmen there were no tissues or amenities like shower hats, cotton buds - things you usually find in boutique hotels. THe television was not tuned up to date and there was no sound on ITV. The lighting was too poor to read a book - the best light was above a painting. There was good water daily - very good, but no extras like biscuits which you would expect as normal. The flex of the kettle was very short built -in so that it was impossible to fill up cups without unplugging the kettle which involved grovelling on ones knees and negotiating the wrought iron under what was an old treadle sewing machine - there were no plugs where one did not have to get on the floor under something. There were coffee pods but no machine to activate them. The worse thing for me was fan in the bathroom which never stopped and woke me continually.
Location: Stow on the Wold - the Cotswolds - too much to do to write here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Olde England (The Cotswolds)

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Stow On Wold is a magnificent old English town. The Porch House maintains an area of the Inn that is the oldest in England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from halifax

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Excellent venue, great location. Food and staff...superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, MEXICO

Great stay at the Porch House

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: We stayed in room 1, with a comfortable king size bed, a big sitting area. The room was lovely, with no views. The included breakfast was really good.
Cons: The bath did not have a curtain, when we took showers, we splashed water everywere.
Location: Many antique stores and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Kingston, Ont

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Top of the line
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walk around the historic town
Close to centre of the town. Beautiful rooms very well appointed. Excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Staff were friendly and over stretched, water pressure was very low in bathroom but i was informed that the whole hotel was having a total refurb this year