Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good service, quiet and atmospheric

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Idyllic country side setting.
Comfortable and very clean. Nice decor and very good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Ideal for short Cotswold stay.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: It's in the middle of no where but about 15-20 mins away from Cirencester - should you want to venture out for alternative bar/restaurant options.
Nice and cosy hotel with small number of rooms - so staff are attentive to those who are staying. Convenient restaurant and bar on the premises for dinner should you wish to stay nearby. Had dinner at the restaurant and the size of the dishes were very generous. Especially the chip sizes and mash potato portions. Nicely presented and tasted great. Room was again cosy and clean. Smell of newly painted walls, so some refurbishment has been made. Nice warm room and shower room is all modern. Shabby chic decor all around which is nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay on way to call with friends

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Bright dining area with garden view
Cons: None
Location: Nearby to cotswold villages and countryside
Warm welcome and smiling reception staff. We were given short history of hotels past,,interesting details of owner!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n yorks

nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Nicely decorated pleasant room
Location: We visited Highgrove
Really enjoyed our stay with friends whilst visiting Highgrove and expected to eat there but ended up coming back to the ragged cott for a very nice meal. Overall we all enjoyed our short stay. Would definitely recommend it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Welford on Avon

Extremely nice hotel!!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We stayed at this lovely hotel as we were visiting Highgrove. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Certainly value for money. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Mario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallington, Surrey / Greater London

Beautiful, quirky, friendly

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Almost everything, to be honest! Oh, and pop in at The Shed, right next door, for a lovely cuppa and test yourself with a game of wall boggle!
Cons: Nothing really springs to mind. Maybe arrangements with cab companies?
Location: Minchinhampton Common is absolutely gorgeous ... the cattle and horses graze freely over the summer, which is lovely to see.
My husband and I stayed in the area for a wedding held at the nearby The Old Lodge that was all booked up by the wedding party. The Ragged Cot was, geographically, one of the closest places nearby, but be warned, unless you have your own car, make arrangements with cab companies in advance as short journeys are a mare to get someone to come out for! The staff were friendly and helpful, especially trying to track down cabs that would come all the way out from Stroud to drive us just down the road to The Old Lodge (2.2 miles away - 6 min driving, but 44 min walking, at night that would be over the uneven common in the pitch dark as there are no streetlights at all). I'm pleased to say that the rave reviews I'd read before booking were completely justified. The outside of the pub / restaurant / hotel is utterly charming, the bar well-stocked and appointed, every wall, nook and cranny had some or other wickedly cool peculiarity (artwork, taxidermied animal head, Rolls Royce engine, artistically placed old bullets, to name but a few) to intrigue you. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and the bed was the most comfortable either of us had ever slept in! We're never great sleepers but we both slept straight through a solid 8 hours! The room (no 2) was lovely and quiet generally speaking, although we did hear our upstairs neighbour walking around a bit before they settled down for the night, after that, it was all peaceful. We'd happily stay there again!
4 out of 5
by Julie from Bristol

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Slight problem with the smell of drains but over all good stay
5 out of 5
by Susan from Braintree. Essex

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
I was there for a family wedding a few miles away. It was very relaxing. Only one small adverse comment. The floor above was very creaky, but that is not likely to change.Beautiful countryside. Would go back again for some walking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent as usual but creaky floors

Posted Apr 15, 2016
I have stayed here a few times on business but this is the first being allocated a room with one above. The room was of the usual high standard but having driven 6 hours I wanted a quick 1/2 hr sleep before going out for dinner. Being around 6pm, the occupants of the room above were active and I found to my dismay that the floor above was very creaky, Fine at night once settled.