Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Excelkent location , very friendly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Wotif
Actually stayed in Hart Lodge next door as the recently purchased & refurbished Yourh Hostel had twin bed rooms. White Hart Inn only had singles or doubles. Excellent breakfast next doo in White Hart Inn.
5 out of 5
by christopher from Peterborough

Perfect!

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff, room was comfortable and of a good size. The double size bath was a great touch. The food was the highlight. All fresh, local and cooked by a chef that really understands flavour. The best short stay we have had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chippenham

Nice Cotswold Town Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Room, facilities, food, staff, cleanliness, character.
Cons: Flexibility to provide an early breakfast for those that need it.
Location: Lovely town. Cotswolds. Steam railway.
Wanted a hotel close to where I was working (Winchcombe), so booked the White Hart IN Winchcombe. Confirmation came through for White Hart Inn in Stow-on-the Wold! Unable to change booking, so had to go with it and accept the additional commute. I was very impressed with the hotel, nice atmosphere, lovely staff, good food, clean and comfortable with some lovely character and quirkiness to make it special. Only negative aspect came when trying to arrange an early breakfast (earlier due to additional distance to my work). Hotel UNABLE to provide anything before 08:30 (and I had to be at work 30 mins away at 08:00!) even on a weekday. On Saturday morning I had to let myself out as there were no staff about at all. Other than that, everything else was fine. Very impressed with room and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great for the Cheltenham Festival

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything within the parameters outlined above
Location: Stow is the quintessential Cotswold Market town. Very pretty, lots of good eateries, if somewhat expensive.
If you're a single person attending the Cheltenham Festival and want to get out of the madness of the town during that week, then Stow-On-The-Wold and The White Hart has plenty to recommend it. I say 'single person' since my room (Fallow) was very small, which is no criticism - it was fine for me, but would not be for a couple. The hotel has character, serves a decent pint, had plenty of other racing folk staying (good for a chinwag with) and the staff are pleasant too. Breakfast was plentiful, the Racing Post was sat outside my foor from 7 a.m every morning - job done!
1 out of 5
by Michele

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Our room, The Roe, was in terrible condition. The wood floors were cracked and wobbly not to mention terribly crooked and slanted. The bathroom still had hair on the floor and the toiletries were half used and not restocked. The biscuits in the room were half empty but presented on the tea tray. The water in the kettle was still half full from the previous guest. That evening while visiting with friends in the bar we were informed that we would need to leave the table we were sitting at as it had been a reserved table, even though we were hotel guests as well and spending plenty on our drinks and cocktails. The next morning at breakfast the hostess was borderline rude and very unwelcoming. 7 I feel this room was terribly overpriced and the service was poor. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Very disappointed with standard of room. Could have been cleaner. Paintwork in awful condition. Carpet was very stained and dirty - not clean under bed. Blind on window very shabby and stained. Bathroom tiles broken. Entrance stairway in need of decoration. Staff very pleasant. Service in restaurant very slow. Breakfast ok - not brilliant. It was my birthday and was expecting a nice room for the money - not expecting top class but this was more on par with b and bs stayed in in Blackpool. Also after dinner went for a walk expecting to have a night cap on return only to find pub closed - it was 10.20pm !!!!
3 out of 5
by Nancy from washington dc

Great location but lots of steps for a small room.

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Ginni was great and gave us a beautiful walk to take. Many steps and bed was queen - not king as advertised!! Room was small. Internet did not work upstairs in the room - only in lounge,
3 out of 5
by Gloria from DC

Okay not great.

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Wifi did not work in room. Only in lounge downstairs. Bed was a queen not king as promised and booked. Lots of steps. Nice staff. They were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels