Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

beautiful location - attentive staff

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: nice restaurant.. menu exceeded my expectation
Cons: only complaint is the advertisement mentioned indoor swimming pool that enticed me... but the pool was not operating.
Location: proximity to other small southeastern towns, not far from Ohio University
updated bathrooms were nice, comfortable bed/nice pillows..quiet..
1 out of 5
by Matthew

Complete failure

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dirty, staff unresponsive and barely looked up from their personal electronics to assist you checking in and to top it off the wifi didnt work in 3/4 of the facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbus

Lovely trip

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I'm a minority I'm sure but would like to have little bars of soap in the bathroom.
Location: Peaceful country setting.
We went their for an overnight. Really liked the updates. The last time we were there was before the renovations. Had a wonderful time and great food and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Brandy Mayle Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
1 out of 5
by Rodetick

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
I got there after Nanking a reservation and they said they sold my room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by William

Waste of my hotels.com free night.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was nice but even the handicap parking was a long uphill walk to the hotel. I told the woman at the desk they should provide a golf cart ride to your car she just laughed. Not at all handicap friendly. The pool was nice but full of unsurprised teenagers. There was a man in the hall outside the pool smoking & drinking beer. The pool has a sign that says "in case of emergency dial 0" when we got back to the room I dialed 0 to report the man smoking in the hotel but after 30 rings no one had answered I was glad it wasn't an emergency because it could have been a horrible situation since they don't answer their phones. To get to our room you had to walk through the kitchen of the restaurant since the kitchen is on both sides of that hall. Nothing is more unprofessional than having kitchen staff bumping into you while walk to & from your room. A beautiful hotel that needs improvements in customer service. Feel like I wasted my free hotels.com night on what I had hoped would be a romantic getaway. Will not stay there again nor recommend it to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

A great place to relax and have a short vacation

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I stayed for two nights, hoping to retreat from the anxious city life. This is definitely the right place to be: quiet, natural and refreshing. The room is clean, food and service are good. Variety of local and imported beers and spirits. Just sitting by the fire, looking at the lake or reading a favorite novel. There are lots of hiking trails around, where you could either challenge yourself or simply enjoy listening to birds singing in deep forest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springboro, United States of America

Overall pleasant trip. The location is great.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The science and view is wonderful by the lake. The surrounding area is not so great.
Cons: The facility is kind of outdated. The cabin location is good but the heater and AC is so loud and old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Staff, Pretty Remodel, Some Difficulties

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: High quality finishes in rooms, very good food (at a state park!), clean pool, attentive staff.
Cons: Fix adjoining door noise problem, ask maintenance/housekeeping/kitchen staff to close doors to work areas, limit facility usage to guests.
Location: 20 minutes to Nelsonville. No Verizon service during our stay, which we saw as an amenity and greatly appreciated.
We were very impressed with the attractiveness of our large "Family Suite" room during our Fall 2016 stay. The two bathrooms were unexpected and very nice. Our suite had an optional adjoining door to the neighboring suite, which isn't uncommon in hotels, but this was not well executed and the cause of significant problems for us. The first night, there was a family with an infant next door, and we could hear every screaming breath and every nurturing coo from the parents all night long. If anything, the doorway seemed to amplify the sounds from the other side. We're parents, too, and have been there, so we toughed it out. The next night, there was a group of 6-8 people in the room sitting around drinking beers and visiting after a wedding dinner. They weren't playing music or yelling, but we could hear every single word of their loud drunken conversations. We got zero sleep and it wasn't really the neighbors fault. The door is a significant enough design problem that I'd not stay in that style room again. Two other concerns it would be great to see addressed: every maintenance/housekeeping/kitchen door was propped open for the duration of our stay- it was unsightly and unusual. Second, the town is able to use the pool facilities, which is nice and I don't necessarily disagree with, but it was unfortunate to have the pool overrun with teenagers for a birthday party such that there wasn't room for guests, on one occasion during our stay.