Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springboro, United States of America

Overall pleasant trip. The location is great.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The science and view is wonderful by the lake. The surrounding area is not so great.
Cons: The facility is kind of outdated. The cabin location is good but the heater and AC is so loud and old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Staff, Pretty Remodel, Some Difficulties

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: High quality finishes in rooms, very good food (at a state park!), clean pool, attentive staff.
Cons: Fix adjoining door noise problem, ask maintenance/housekeeping/kitchen staff to close doors to work areas, limit facility usage to guests.
Location: 20 minutes to Nelsonville. No Verizon service during our stay, which we saw as an amenity and greatly appreciated.
We were very impressed with the attractiveness of our large "Family Suite" room during our Fall 2016 stay. The two bathrooms were unexpected and very nice. Our suite had an optional adjoining door to the neighboring suite, which isn't uncommon in hotels, but this was not well executed and the cause of significant problems for us. The first night, there was a family with an infant next door, and we could hear every screaming breath and every nurturing coo from the parents all night long. If anything, the doorway seemed to amplify the sounds from the other side. We're parents, too, and have been there, so we toughed it out. The next night, there was a group of 6-8 people in the room sitting around drinking beers and visiting after a wedding dinner. They weren't playing music or yelling, but we could hear every single word of their loud drunken conversations. We got zero sleep and it wasn't really the neighbors fault. The door is a significant enough design problem that I'd not stay in that style room again. Two other concerns it would be great to see addressed: every maintenance/housekeeping/kitchen door was propped open for the duration of our stay- it was unsightly and unusual. Second, the town is able to use the pool facilities, which is nice and I don't necessarily disagree with, but it was unfortunate to have the pool overrun with teenagers for a birthday party such that there wasn't room for guests, on one occasion during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and cozy

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The staff was very helpful, welcoming and nice! The food from the grill downstairs was fantastic! The coffee was great too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
We had a great time i wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clyde, Ohio

Very nice, homey atmosphere!

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Our room was very nice and very clean! We had a family suite and it was wonderful to have 2 bathrooms since there were 6 of us. The only problem I had was that there was not enough beds for all of us! My reservation was for 6 people and there were bunk beds (single over double) that slept 3 and then a king bed to sleep 2. When I make a reservation for 6 I expect there to be places for everyone to sleep. We had to get a roll-away cot which wasn't the most comfortable option, but there were no other rooms available to be switched to. Other than that issue, our stay was very acceptable! A continental breakfast would be a great addition...there is a restaurant but we decided to skip that so I can't remark on it. Overall, great place with great amenities and beautiful scenery!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable
Cons: We could not get phone reception in our rooms
Location: Secluded, and peaceful
Had a nice time at facility:) Very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canton Ohio

Great Country Setting

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Two full baths in the room, frosted glass double door room dividers for a little privacy without being separated from the kids.
Cons: More dining choices would be a great addition, but the Cardinal dining room is great.
Location: Surrounded by the Appalachian Mountains, Burr Oak State Park Lodge overlooks Burr Oak Lake it is a Great place for any outdoor enthusiast.
This is a great hotel in a great location, The Staff was courteous and helpful with all our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Family Reunion

Posted May 6, 2014
We stayed in a cottage with several cottages around us. The cottage itself was equipped as we were told. There was a slight water problem when we first checked in but it was corrected immediately. We stayed there as the closest location to OU for graduation we could find. But I'm glad it worked out that way as there were other OU families there celebrating (but not too much). Only about 1/2 hour from OU and many things to do while there. We took several walks, cooked out on their grill, used the dining room, etc. We only wished we would have had time for golf!