Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Marie from Sydney

Very Spacious Room

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and spacious room. Good service in a nice setting and excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Marie from Sydney

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and convenient - but quite far from the beach.
4 out of 5
by Jim from Glasgow

Home from home

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Having stayed in the Haathi many times it's like going back home. Very friendly and helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Abhijit from nasik

peaceful jewel in south goa

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
good property with a ton of russians around. the entire area is infested with russians in cavelosim. Its a beautiful location though and one the cleanest goa beaches in south. 5 mins walk to the beach. nice simple food. good clean pools. 3 of them. plus good activities for children. peaceful place.
5 out of 5
by Kathryn from Manchester

Overall experience

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
We have just returned from a four night stay at the Haathi Mahal and absolutely loved it. It is in a really convienient location, five minutes walk from the beach and the facilities, including the English pub, are excellent. Only gave four instead of five stars as rooms are a little tired and double beds not very big. Hotel amenities are amazing and the restauraunt staff lovely, the reception staff could be a little friendlier, but maybe we were spoiled having stayed at the Taj Gateway the week before.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK

Not worth the money

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Good points were breakfast, plenty of choice and restaurant staff were friendly, so were security staff. Parking available for scooters etc
Cons: Service should be improved, (incl room service) The staff should have honoured our checkout time which we had in writing. Bathroom re-decoration
Location: Location is ok, about a 20 minute walk from the beach. Our room was next to a noisy road.
Kettle in room did not work with any wall sockets. Some wall sockets supplied no power Bathroom was dirty and tired. Shower curtain had mould on. Pots and plates would be removed from rooms and left outside the room door for up to three days. Rude staff at reception - The check out time advertised was 5pm, when we arrived this was changed to 10am. The hotel staff would not budge on this despite me showing them the 5pm check out time in writing. Pool opening time was 0800 but quite often was still not open at 0900. Wifi unusable until midnight when traffic had slowed down (maximum amount of devices allowed to be connected is also 2 or 3 per room, including phones). Aircon was inefficient, there was a big fan on the ceiling which made a load of racket when switched on. We were only in our room on the evening and experience 6 short power cuts. The balcony door in our room was secured by one bolt and latch, the type you get on a garden gate. At checkout extra drinks were shown on our bill - however quickly rectified. Jacuzzi is pathetic in terms of power and is cold. We would ring room service and get no answer time after time, tea or coffee would then arrived luke warm 45 minutes later. The tea and coffee costed a different amount every day! Shower pressure was just a trickle and you would have to turn hot water on in advance Much cheaper hotels available in the area, such as Veeniola Holiday Home, which offer the same for 1/13th of the price (minus a pool).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaminster Dorset

A wonderful hotel - we want to go again!

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: As Above
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Beach (10 mins walk) with wooden shacks for amazing curry lunches and complementary sun loungers with umbrellas.
Wonderful hotel - very relaxing and tranquil. A peaceful haven in the heart of busy Cavelossim. Staff also wonderful - so polite and hard working. The hotel customer service manager Jeremy is superb - so good at advising / recommending on things to see, what to be wary of, how to handle situations - we felt safe knowing he was there for us in case of any disasters. The food is delicious and plentiful - there was extensive choice for breakfast which included omelet, porridge and curry! The pool and the surrounding area was perfect. The rooms were well cleaned and maintained. All in all we had a wonderful stay at Haathi Mahal - we want to go back there!
3 out of 5
by Mr B from Uk

Not as good as last year

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
My second stay at Haathi Mahal was not as enjoyable as last year. Although some improve ts have been made (free wifi this time) the general state of the place has gone downhill. My room was very basic and the bathroom in desperate need of updating (and cleaning). Breakfast very average. There's a decent pool, handy convenience shop and nice pub/bar with friendly staff. It's okay, but for a little extra the Holiday Inn Resort is in another class.
5 out of 5
by Kari L. from Finland

Beach vacation

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
Haathi Mahal was a very positive hotel in a nice location, fairly close to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Very, Very Okay

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Large and spacious layout tried both the
Cons: Hoousekeeping & food for sure
6-8 Minutes walk in the sun from the Beach, good for December morning, Lots of elderly Russian tourists, Ordinary facilities, Average service - long wait for bell boys, HKP v.v.poor. Food bad and way overpriced in room service - Restaurant too overpriced and ordinary