Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.0 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Close to many facilities

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: In the upgraded rooms the TV channels as I could only get 2 English film channels, no news at all.
Location: I have been going to this area for many years and find it central for local restaurants, near the beach, bus stop nearby
Having stayed in the area for many years but not able to get into my usual accommodation chose The Summerville as it was in the right location for me. Not knowing what I should expect was pleasantly surprised on my arrival. Staff were lovely, rooms were very clean. Breakfast very basic but what do you want for the rating. As I had booked an upgraded room to ensure I had, TV, fridge and AC was a little disappointed that I could only get 2 English channels on the TV and no news at all. Overall my experience was very good and I would definitely return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Canada

Good for the price

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Included breakfast was minimal but there are good restaurants nearby.
Location: About 10 minutes walk to the beach. Short taxi to Fort Aguada. Very Short walk to shops and restaurants.
Although this is described as a beach hotel, there is no direct access to the beach. Compared with other hotels in India I found this one clean and well maintained. The swimming pool looked clean. Everything worked, although the air conditioner was a little noisy mainly because it made the windows rattle. For the price, I think this was a reasonable hotel and close to restaurants and shops. I would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experience with hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: swimming pool
My Experience with hotel is very bad , becoz of staff is very ruthless , not co operavite , hotel's staff is not very good, room interior is very bad , so i wish to expedia , i future plz do not suggest to any body for booking a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a pleasing experience

Posted Dec 20, 2012
Not a pleasing experience in terms of hotel service and cleanliness of the room.
1 out of 5
by Payal Jain from Surat, Gujarat, India

Horrible

Posted Dec 1, 2012
Manager is rude. They are not well prepared. They say that they are 4 stars. But they are actually of the 2 star standards.
2 out of 5
by Bhaskar from Bombay

Only for shoe string budget travellers!

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Cons: Service of staff
Most likely due to the ongoing off season, the hotel had sent most of its staff on leave. Consequently the bar and the restaurant were closed. Same was not informed in advance. The reception staff did not bother to pick up calls either directly or through intercom. The hotel location was unclear and numerous calls to the reception went unanswered. Only after an hour long search was able to locate the hotel but only to find the recption staff busy in watching television with the phones in ringing mode! A simple request for a cup of coffee at the reception was met with the revert "You have your car. Please come and take us along in your car to the coffee shop (as it is a bit far away) and we would bring the cup of coffee for you'. While checking out, nobody was available at the reception, all calls went unanswered, so had to leave the keys on the reception desk and leave. Called them up later during the day to enquire whether self had any dues to settle; only to get a revert 'Please call back after 2 minutes"! The hotel would be okay for a budget traveller (strictly on a shoe string budget) with no expectations on service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Skåde, Højbjerg

På grund af tyveri fra vort aflåste værelse, kan vi ikke anbefale det

Posted Dec 3, 2011
Location: Stille og roligt område. Ligger meget tæt på vand og strand. Stranden er godt dækket af livreddere. Dog ligger der en del skibsvrag og ødelægger den flotte udsigt ud over havet. Under vort ophold var der opskylning af en del olie. Vi besøgte flere restauranter og de var alle pæne og rene.
Gennemgående var vi tilfreds med opholdet på hotellet, men på grund af tyveri fra vores aflåste værelse, hvor vi ikke fik nogen hjælp fra ledelsen, - nærmere tværtimod -.Direktøren og hans underdirektør var ubehagelig, rettere uforskammet og langt fra imødekommende og ville ikke gøre noget ved sagen ej heller anmelde tyveriet til politiet, kan vi ikke anbefale hotellet til andre.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Hotel Summerville dcht bij het strand

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Bij aankomst kreeg ik een kleine kamer zonder koelkast, Airco was kapot. Het personeel is irritant vriendelijk en wilde alles voor je gaan regelen, zoals taxis, scooter. "Ïf you want scooter, you come to me" . Terwijl er in de directe omgeving vele taxis rondrijden en scooterverhuur bedrijfjes zijn. Ook was er geen ontbijt, wat wel beloofd was. Na bijbetaling van 500 rupees per nacht, kreeg ik een betere ruimere kamer met kloekast en werkende airco. Helaas werd de kamer de hele week niet schoongemaakt, ook geen schone handdoeken of lakens. Hotel is nodig aan vervanging van personeel en beleid toe !!!