Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missoula, MT

Beautiful, secluded hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Small, Secluded, Beautiful Views, Nice Room, Friendly Staff, Delicious Food.
Location: Dolphin watching at Lovina Beach, Local markets, Waterfalls, Temples
I had the most amazing stay at Munduk Plantation. All of the staff there were extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed in the one bedroom pool villa which had the most incredible view of the mountains and out to the sea. I loved that this hotel was small and away from many high tourist locations, offering a much more authentic experience. I will definitely stay at Munduk if I ever return to Bali.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Mar 8, 2017
A wonderful escape back to a working plantation with great rooms and service and a fantastic pool. Shame that welcome towels smelt a big 'old' as if fave such a wrong impression of what we afterwards experienced. Definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Infinity pool in the clouds

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the hotel's infinity pool and jacuzi. The staff was very friendly and always happy to help out. We took the trekking trip in the jungle and the lakes, the guide was very knowledgeable! Due to the close proximity of the rainforest and the plantation there were many bugs (mostly ants) in the bathroom. The size and view from the room was excellent, probably the best view in bali.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot tucked away in the mountains, good stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at the Munduk Moding Plantation -- we would highly recommend visiting this part of the island if you are going to Bali and looking for something off the beaten path. The resort is tucked away in the mountains off a dirt road and welcomes you with a spectacular mountain and (northern) coastal view in the distance. The infinity pool is world-class and leaves a lasting impression. One negative here is that the pool is so nice that every guest during our visit spent so much time on photo shoots walking along the edge. For those wanting to enjoy the pool (which was warm and relaxing) or a peaceful breakfast we found this quite annoying. I was asked to vacate the pool so someone could take pictures "for the hotel" but I'm not sure what that meant as she did not have professional photography equipment. Our villa was huge and spacious, and had a wonderful outdoor shower. The view was also incredible and the landscaping around the villa and the resort was impeccable. The bed was comfy and the area was quiet. Our sheets and bedding were not "dirty", but had a few stains from previous guests. We also found that both the bathroom towels and beach towels by the pool had a few stains. Lastly, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a small issue with our room and it was addressed immediately. We could not have been happier with the service and hospitality. We would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A haven of tranquility in the mountains

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful comfortable well equipped rooms set in the grounds of a coffee plantation. Views from rooms and communal areas are amazing (on a clear day). Food is excellent quality and there is a comprehensive activities program and free shuttle which enable you to explore the surrounding area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016
I,on behalf of the whole team,would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your experience. Our housekeeping team is very pleased that you find the room was well equipped and comfortable.In addition,our Chef and kitchen team are delighted to know that in your opinion,the food quality at MMP is excellent.More over,our activity team is happy that you enjoy the free activity program under the MMP Experience. I and all of the team member are very much hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stacey from Australia

Absolute Gem

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Monduk on a 'mini honeymoon'. The service was outstanding from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Magical surroundings and unbelievable views. The award winning pool and spa were a favourite. The climate is a little cooler up in the clouds and we thoroughly enjoyed the plantation tour as well as a second trip, organised with the hotel guide, down to the temple and kayaking across the lake. The hotel menu choices were a little limited for my vegetarian wife but if you are only there for a few nights its not to bad. Make sure you take a trip into Monduk for a wander round. This is a great part of Bali, made better by the almost complete absence of the usual Australian tourists.
4 out of 5
by Zeal from India

Great views - untouched Bali!!

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful views from here - untouched Bali. Fresh air and so green. Amazing infinity pool and jacuzzi - all with great views. The GM is very helpful and knowledgeable. The owners are wonderful and are striving to ensure that one experiences nature in its purest form. Would love to have a healthy spread of vegetarian food options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stunning location in hills

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Peace and calm in the heart of Bali.
Cons: the dining area had a great view and food but not much atmosphere
Location: A place to relax , lovely walks around the plantation and stunning pool.
Not easy to find but once there we didnt want to leave.this is a beautiful property but not ostentatious and is the perfect place to relax.One of few hotels i would return to in indonesia.
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Long Beach, CA

Paradise in the mountains

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful. Beautiful hotel and grounds. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Only negative was the temperature of the pool.....cold!