Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Great example of its kind

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Pros: Location and style
Cons: Noting... for my tastes and wants.
Location: Convenient for Guildford. You must have a car, however
I had a very comforatable stay. This is not a "modern" hotel. It doesn't have a lift. But it isn't the "wonderful" "modern" "glass and chrome" soul-less thing that most hotels are today. Things WORKED. The place had CHARACTER. I was WARM. There was (some) parking... and reasonably priced pay & display (coin or card or phone) VERY nearby. Not for you if you think McDonald's is a restaurant... but inexpensive, comfortable, and to be cherished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Pleasantly old fashioned

Posted Mar 20, 2018
Pros: It was "honest". The best of "old-fashioned". (Which isn't to say stuffy)
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing.
Location: In midst of small town High Street. Plenty of places to eat, shops for incidentals. In midst of a pretty part of Surrey
Alledgedly, Peter the Great (Russia) stayed here in 1695. This is not a "modern" "chrome and glass" (and soul-less) "efficient" "modern" hotel. It IS a very nice place to stay, with everything you NEED, pleasantly located in the High Street of a small town. If you "need" chrome and glass, perhaps not for you. But I LIKED it. Everything WORKED, everything was clean. Staff courteous and Did Their Jobs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
Had a night interview at Fitzpatricks. Lovely location, clean surrounding area. Breakfast was amazing. So delicious and so much! Friendly staff, minor incident with the cooker so limited eggs but otherwise all fantastic would happily stay again.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Great Breakfast

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel a little tired but clean & comfortable. Great breakfast & nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Nice enough hotel with all the facilities you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Easy walking distance from railway station. Quiet location. Historic features.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world features and lots of nooks and cranies

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Lots of room- , Clearly not making money-. number of locals come in regularly-Food and service adequate but not outstanding..But we would come again if its still open
5 out of 5
by Brigid

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived was told there was no reservation in our name ,showed my conf # got a room because they had a cancellation which cost a bit more than what we booked
4 out of 5
by Sonya

Definitely one to add to favourites!!

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great overnight stay, food was lovely, and staff couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs...Only thing I will mention is the pillows...they were really thin and terribly uncomfortable...apart from that, cracking place..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selby Yorkshire

Modernised Old World hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Convenience, hassle free
Cons: Mechanical noises out back
Location: Fantastic location for all sorts of historic and interesting places all around and not far to the sea.
Friendly staff, good food, especially breakfast when there was wide choice. Old world charm quirky shaped rooms wood paneled corridors and comfortable single room. No bath but a fantastic large shower cubicle in a really clean modern bathroom. I really enjoyed my stay in the centre of the town, the only down side was my room faced the back of the hotel and there was a noisy air/conditioner/ fridge, difficult when it was warm and the window was open.