Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantic views

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
It was lovely
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nothing like it said online. Didn't get the beds we asked for we had two people sleeping on the fold out couch. With nothing but springs in the mattress. No cold water in the fridge and no milk like it's said. The best bit was relaxing in the spa at the end of the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good accommodation close to the beach & Cavill Ave

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Wotif
The couple of days at Equinox were fine. I had read some of the negative reviews on the website but overall we found the experience quite good - we wanted an ocean view and that's what we did get. Secure parking underneath was also an asset.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would we book here again???????

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Holiday didn't get off to a good start. Lights to the bathroom & kitchen did not work. Reported the issue in the morning as we arrived mid evening & was then advised by the lady at the counter that they were aware of the issue & someone would be up to take a look that morning - would have been nice to have been left a note telling that they were aware of the issue, but no note & no apology. Issue found to be a faulty fridge & the gentleman who actually identified and fixed the problem was very good & helpful by getting a hire fridge in within 2 hours.We also asked about a remote for the Aircon unit as we couldn't find it & had luckily I knew how to turn it on manually but we couldn't adjust the settings. The room was getting very dated and was in need of a good clean/refurbishement, but we weren't paying top dollar so to be expected? The facilities were actually very good with Gym, Steam Room, Sauna & Swimming Pool all very good to be able to use. Good views from our room and just the start where the light issue got us off on the wrong foot we eventually enjoyed our stay there but if you book here the rooms need refurbishing so don't expect too much, based on our rooms condition in any case. Would we stay there again, hmmmmm, not sure.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RICARDO from Brazil

The worst staff I have ever seen

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I have spent 10 days in this hotel... It was the worst one we have stayed in Australia... The staff is very very rude and impolite, specially one old woman who works at the reception.. Don't worth spend a penny in this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Not a good place to stay

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Car parking was free and we did have a view of the ocean.
Cons: Definitely cleanliness Provide basics like toilet paper, tea and coffee, salt and pepper, sugar
Location: location was fine and plenty to do on the Gold Coast
This was not a god place to stay. On arrival the reception was closed due to being Xmas Day and another person staying at this place helped us so we could get our key. Nothing was mentioned before our arrioval to tell us reception would be closed. We had to provide the basics including tea and coffee and toilet paper ourselves. Washing machine cost $4 to use and the same with the dryer. The apartment was dirty. The shower would not drain due to hairs blocking the drain which we had to clean out. The broom had two inches of dirt and dust again we had to clean this. The glass coffee table was dirty and there was paper stuff stuck to the floor which we cleaned off. We were given a dirty bath mat which is not good. When paying nearly $200 a night I would expect better than this. The clock on the wall does not work, the cushion on the couch was ripped with the stuffing coming out which is unhygienic to say the least. The people at the reception were rude and very unhelpful. We would never stay at this place again and certainly would not recommend it to anyone either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Needs to catch up

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: liked the location, size of the room, furniture, outside area (pool is a bit small though)
Cons: Lifts, customer service, internet access, utilities (toilet paper, dishwashing liquid)
Location: Bus stop right outside hotel to bus to theme parks, (30 min drive), beach across the street, 15 minute walk to middle of surfers
While we were pleased with the size of our room, we were a little let down when we paid extra to have an ocean view but because a massive hotel was in the way we had to walk out and around the corner to get a tiny view of the beach. I understand some of the rooms would have perfect ocean views but they shouldn't sell a room as ocean view and charge extra when its barely the case. Outside area was nice, pool quite small for a place of its size but everything else was good, BBQ and resting areas and chairs etc The lifts are worringly old and slow and not air conditioned (which sucks when its a slow lift), and you can hear the electricity crackling when going down: not exactly a comforting sound. The facilities (namely the shower) were old and a little dirty, and we were only given one roll of toilet paper and a tiny sachet of dish wash liquid for 8 days: we were told that we would get more when the room would get cleaned half way through our stay, but that never happened anyway. (room didn't get cleaned at all). No wifi, if you want to go on the internet there is ONE computer for the entire place and its a couple of dollars for 20 minutes of internet. We were mostly at theme parks during our stay, and ate out every night so if you plan to have a trip like this then this place should be okay, as long as you aren't addicted to the internet! Receptionists need to learn a bit about customer service Good location, 15 minute walk from the middle of surfers (Cavill Ave/Orchid ave).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syd

House keeping

Posted Nov 27, 2014
We were very disapointed with our room we had no running hot water for our stay and they couldnt change our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Natalie from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Tired; Value: Could be better; Service: Respectful; Cleanliness: Grubby; Close to beach