Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

You get what you pay for

Posted May 2, 2017
The location is excellent. The room itself, once you saw past the ants, the cobwebs, the dirty dishes, the repairs and maintenance that is reqired was well layed out and suitable for sleeping. There were no staff on site to be able to purchase any extras, such as air conditioning or toilet paper. If you need somewhere to lay your head but are on a budget, this is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great stay at Karana Palms. For the price I paid, it was well above my expectations. Only about 10mins walk to Surfers Paradise beach, shops etc (ideal to be about 10 mins away as the bars and clubs will keep you up all night otherwise). Had a couple issues with the washing machine and dryer but this was quickly resolved with the help of the excellent staff. Definitely recommend if you are on a budget
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Wotif
Staff are very friendly. No Air Cond when we arrived 4 days to fix.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide SA

Good location was reasonably central

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Location was central for myself. Plenty of car parking spaces under the hotel. pool was clean and enjoyable.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi would have been good.
Location: There were several restaurants and attractions close by. Travelling by car, Theme Parks and other activities were reached within half hour.
As has been said before... you get what you pay for. clean and tidy with a small view. The staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Good location

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Cleaning
Room was ok a bit of a smell and the stairs up,to,the room could have done with a vacuum as there was sand and leaves on carpeted staircase. A carpet deodoriser would be nice too. The cups and cutlery should be looked over after each visitor leaves as they were put away but had food stuff on them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Secure parking.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Secure parking
Cons: Accessibility
Location: Beach and Cavill Ave only 10 minute walk.
The room was a little dated but comfortable enough for our needs. We did not see any reception staff during our stay, check in was done over a phone at the office door. The walk to the beach was only 10 minutes. Close to Cavill Ave and shops. Parking was secure. The owner was generous enough to provide us with free air conditioning as it is usually charged separately. There is no elevator and no disability access. Easy to locate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location & outdoor space

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our room! Bottom floor balcony was incredible for adding space to the room (especially with a toddler). Location is incredible..all you need from food to parks to shops to the beach within walking distance! Very clean/tidy, but could maybe use a bit more cutlery and cling wrap/al foil in room :) overall very happy with our 10 days spent there and will definitely be back again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Qld

wanted a comfortable apartment close to facilities

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: location was good and parking was included
Cons: advice about lack of lifts when booking
Location: plenty of restaurants close by and location was within walking distance of Surfers paradise
apartment was on the 3rd floor with no lifts. This caused problems for my disabled husband and meant we were restricted in our movements. Apartment was clean and suitable for our needs although the bed was uncomfortable and there was very limited hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bucks Night Accomodation

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Wotif
Perfect for a cheap, tidy hotel with kitchen facilities, pool and proximity to Cavill Avenue. Would recommend for anyone on a budget, lock-up car park and good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Excellent staff, good area and room

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The helpful and knowledgeable staff
Cons: The comfort of the bed and couch. The room had a bit of a smell since we were right next to a smoking room but air fresheners were provided.
Location: The hotel is located just across the bridge from Surfers Paradise. It is a quick walk to the beach and we never had a problem finding things to do!
The hotel is a five-ten minute walk from the beach. The room was a good size and we had plenty of blankets and extra pillows available. The bed isn't the most comfortable but we slept just fine. The room was clean and had a very nice patio access. The staff was absolutely AMAZING. They were very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We found our car battery had died right before we were leaving to go to Movie World. The staff took care of this for us while we were gone- obtained some jumper cables and charged the battery for us. We were so grateful to have such kind and helpful people on staff!