Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Victoria

Good budget stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We arrived early and they did their best to place us in a free room which was very appreciated. Bathroom light flickered on and off first night but they replaced it promptly. Coffee and tea, hairdryer, fridge, heating, cooling and FOXTEL all provided. No daily housekeeping - only came in on our fourth day to give us fresh towels, but didn't change the sheets or anything. On our last night we had to change rooms so they could accommodate other guests, which we weren't fussed by since they told us beforehand. Although the room we were moved to had no fridge, no hairdryer, no deadbolt on the door, and also smelled of cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking facility. Location is good. Motel is close to the beach and bus stops, even walking distance to Pacific Fair Shopping Centre or even Broadbeach for dinner. All in all, staff were friendly and we didn't expect a 5 star facility since you do get what you pay for. We stayed for just under a week and it suited us well since we spent most of the days out anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Oceanblue, Hotel Management
we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have recently taken over management of the motel since your stay and have seen to the issues mentioned in your feedback. Smoking is a problem that occurs within rooms despite signage to state it is smoke free. We hope you visit again in the future. Craig and Richele
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Close to beach

Posted May 25, 2016
Good place to stay with everything near by staff are friendly and go out of their way to help affordable and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Motel

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Suitable for those on a budget.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and everywhere

Posted May 6, 2016 on Wotif
It's a comfortable room, its location is between surfers paradise and burleigh heads, which is perfect for tourists to choose.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern nsw

Nice managers

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Lastminute
Didn't actually meet any staff as we got in too late and left too early but co-ordinating with the person on the end of the phone regarding the key was simple and honest. Thanks :). The room was all we required and beds were comfy.
1 out of 5
by Michael from Cairns

It's a dump

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
When I stay somewhere I like to rate them as either somewhere I would stay again or somewhere I wouldn't stay again. The Ocean Blue is somewhere that I would NEVER stay again. Reading through some of the previous glowing reviews it's hard to imagine that this is the same place. The Ocean Blue is a dump. The mirrors were filthy - like someone had just flossed their teeth in front of them and they had never seen a spray of windex. The sliding l glass doors on entry to room were filthy with greasy hand prints all over them. Soap from previous guests had just been left in the shower. The smoke alarm had been taped up to allow people to smoke in the room hence the room smelt of cigarette smoke. There was a cigarette burn in the doona cover. No clock/phone in the room. The aircon filter was filthy. The carpets need a good steam clean Blankets in the cupboard were just shoved in, not folded or washed after used by last person. Like I said I wouldn't ever stay here again. I don't mind an old hotel but somewhere that was reasonably clean would be nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear about your stay at the Ocean Blue. We have recently taken over management of the motel and have seen to the issues in your feedback. We do hope you will come and stay again to see the difference in our presentation. Craig and Richele
3 out of 5
by dina from Toronto

Overrated tired motel.

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is overrated. AC installed in the bathroom, so it does not cool down the room. Generally, hotel is quite tired.Kitchen is dirty, people leave dirty dishes.It was weird mirror on the ceiling .On the other hand, this hotel has free WiFi, kitchen, swimming pool and BBQ.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great for the price

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Lastminute
We needed a cheap last minute room and this was much nicer than we'd expected! The room had aircon and a TV, clean linens and towels, a fridge, water heater and coffee, and was spacious. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
by liza from brisbane

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
really good budget accommodation
4 out of 5
by Mikhaila from Newcastle

I'd Stay Again!

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
After browsing all of the very cheap places to stay on the Gold Coast, we settled on Ocean Blue as it had the highest guest ratings of any of the places under $100 a night. I am glad we did! The hotel is a short walk to the beach, or a short bus ride to anywhere on the Gold Coast you might want to go. Some lovely little cafes within walking distance too. The hotel itself was presented neatly and cleanly, with a large bathroom (thank god!) and hot water. The beds were fairly comfortable for a cheap motel, and a large range of foxtel channels was very handy at night. The pool is also clean and a nice size. The staff were friendly, even inviting us for a beer one night. The only downside was that the aircon wasn't quite sufficient in the Gold Coast humidity, which I was fine with but my friend had just come back from the UK so was really feeling the heat! Overall, I was very happy with the motel in the 4 nights we stayed. Cleanliness is my priority and they delivered.