Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , clean and cozy type near beach too

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Very good hotel my family all love it , cozy house , we can hear the sea sound during nite .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Stay, Great Location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location, Value, Clean, Good Facilities, Friendly Staff, Roomy Apartment.
Cons: Longer stay next time.
Location: Quiet location, beach front, close to restaurants and transport.
Stayed at Sunbird with the family. Checked in after hours which was simple and quick. Loved the accommodation, facilities and location. Clean and spacious apartment with everything we needed, self catering apartments, no daily servicing, which is what we wanted. Facilities included indoor and outdoor heated pools, tennis and squash court, gym and a great BBQ area, all of which we managed to use. Staff are friendly and attentive. Minor issue attended to as soon as we reported. Located right across the road to a patrolled beach and walking distance to the restaurants in the famous Tedder Avenue. Close to Surfers Paradise without the noise. Bus passes and tram a short walk away. Definitely will be returning for our next holiday on the Gold Coast, hopefully longer. Great value. Thank you to the Team at Sunbird.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and Overrated

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
I booked a two bedroom apartment for three days, from the time we arrived, we realised it was a mistake, it is not exactly a "Hotel", but rather a few hotel apartments in a residential building. It was Saturday 1 pm, and there was nobody at the reception. We had to wait for somebody coming out of the building to get the sliding door open, as it only opens from inside. We called the out-of-hours number, and they gave us the instructions how to find the keys! The apartment was spacious but very old, furniture condition was terrible, bathrooms were not clean. There was no daily house keeping, which I knew before booking from the Hotel description notes on Expedia site, but the amazing thing is that the information book at the apartment mentioned that I have to clean and remove any garbage before I leave, and that any "extra" cleaning will be charged to my account! The book language was even instructive rather than welcoming. I was disappointed, an I am really astonished how this Hotel is rated "4-stars"!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by The Sunbird Team, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous! you for your review. We are sorry that you thought that we were a Hotel, which we are not (although Expedia will not change this). We advertise and operate Self Catering apartments with advertised Reception hours which are clearly displayed on Expedia’s website, and we do not have a 24 hour concierge service that the large Hotels do. Our front auto doors operate 24 hours and gives direct access to the after hours service who then open the inner doors for access to our key safe so not sure why you thought you were locked out. These instructions are sent to all Guests who indicate that they are arriving outside of Reception hours and are clearly displayed in our front foyer which has 24 hours access. This system is used daily with very few issues reported. We are not a "residential building". Like the vast majority of Holiday apartment buildings on the Gold Coast, we operate Holiday apartments with resort facilities. The apartments are cleaned and checked prior to all Guests arrivals and any reported issues are attended to immediately. Nothing was reported by you during your stay. The compendium is not written by us. It is a company that supplies compendiums to the majority of buildings here. It does not say you have to clean, only to remove your garbage and wash and dry dishes and put them away which is a standard request across all self catering apartments. Even the large Hotels charge extra for rooms left in an unsatisfactory condition. You must have missed the Welcome messages on the first 2 pages. We are officially rated 4 star by AAA Ratings. As you state, you were negative right from the time you arrived. Don't think we have ever had anyone comment about the tone of the compendium. Sounds like you wanted a 5 star Hotel room with daily servicing rather than a large 2 bedroom self contained, self catering apartment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Clean and quiet hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Facilities are old, and no 24hrs front desk services. But close to beach and quiet. Overall is OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by The Sunbird Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Facilities have all been updated here recently. Pool, new Gym, tennis court and BBQ area so not sure what facilities you are referring to. We operate self catering apartments and we are not a large Hotel with 24 hours reception and concierge services. Perhaps you should have done a bit more research and booked a Hotel room and not a large self catering apartment. Appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Port macquarie nsw

Nice apartment ocean and river views

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: For us the area it's in Main Beach which is close to everything we wanted to see and do this trip.
Cons: The apartment while clean could do with an update and some signs in the basement car park indicating direction of the lifts.
Location: Beach, shopping SeaWorld surfers paradise restaurants
Apartment just across the road from the beach. All the amenities were excellent pool spa BBQ area etc. Very good security in place. Everything was provided for so our stay was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Sunbird Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will look at better signage in the car park. Hope to see you on a return trip. The Sunbird Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Fantastic location, amazing views up on the 14th floor, excellent facilities.
Cons: My only criticism is that the lamp shades in the bedrooms are very dusty/mouldy.
We had a fabulous weekend in this spacious & clean appartment just over the road from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thornlands qld

Very close to beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Nicely renovated older style apartment building close to beach and Tedder Avenue. Just far enough away from Surfers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Beautiful place to stay, nice and close to the beach, shops and bus facilities. Indoor and outdoor pools are fantastic. Would definitely stay again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Awesome!!

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The room fit out. Lovely and clean and very well appointed.
Cons: Can't think of any negatives.
Location: Nice and close to the Spit, Merina Merage and Australia Fair.
The rooms we had were very clean and beautiful. Great views and great position. Would highly recommend the hotel and we will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Sunbird Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Joyce, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you loved our building and the local area. We look forward to seeing you again at Sunbird Beach Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Fantastic Apartment

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Location, being across the road from the beach. The Pool area and the overall property itself
Location: Mid way between Surfers and Broadwater, beach across the road, restaurants and supermarket within walking distance
We decided to have a last minute getaway and ended up with an apartment on the 21st floor of this 21 story building. Fantastic Views to the beach and ocean. The apartment was just lovely, comfortable beds, and pillows, clean, had everything you'd ever need in the kitchen. Lots of lounges to enable a bit of a chill out infront of the TV after a hard day at the beach. Couldn't fault our stay...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Sunbird Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Karen for your review. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time and found our building and the local area to be fantastic. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.