Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Not quite as advertised

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The greeting at check-in was friendly. The room itself was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hot tubs should be kept warmer if possible. If they aren't able to be kept warm enough to soak in - it shouldn't be advertised as a hotel amenity.
Location: Near falls and other beautiful things.
We spent one night here on a weekday. We arrived in the evening and were warmly greeted and graciously accommodated requests for a cafe and a beer. That was really nice. The room itself was ok. We were on an inside courtyard room so that all windows look out to the other rooms. The biggest disappointment was the hot tubs. On check-in they recommended a soak since we had a long day of traveling. We were disappointed to find that the hot tubs were not warm enough to soak in. They were probably about 90 degrees, which might keep one warm enough to not get too cold - however not nearly warm enough to be relaxing and comfortable. Especially with the cold wind that evening. Breakfast was repeatedly offered to us - however it is extremely expensive for what appeared to be average food. The dinner menu also was exceedingly expensive (as most restaurants are in Iceland). I recommend the grocery stores where food can be purchased for reasonable costs. Including prepared foods such as sandwiches.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms need renovations. They are on the old side, at least compared to the other 3 hotels we stayed in Iceland. The staff was dry, and not really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice small hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Well managed small and modern hotel with unique entry into patio with steaming geothermal hot tubs surrounded by volcanic rock. Good restaurant. Fludir is a small pleasant town with a commercial hot springs. We arrived in November with rainy cold weather so there was not much to do in the town. The hotel was convenient, easy to park, nice restaurant. Prices were reasonable for Iceland but expensive compared to average small town in Europe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staff and no wifi as stated

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Unfriendly staff and no wifi have to pay for internet cable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lobby area and dining area have been renovated, but hallways and rooms are outdated and need an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from india

Nice hotel very close to the secret lagoon

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hot tub in the hotel were amazing and it was really close to the secret lagoon !! Staff was very good !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverley UK

Panoramic view from the restuarant

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Please see above
Cons: Please see the last sentence above
Location: Set in the small village of Fludir there is the amazing outdoor naturally heated "Secret Lagoon" near by and the wonderful Tomato restaurant for lunch
Modern contemporary style single floor hotel with terrace satellite rooms leading off from the main building containing reception, restaurant and conference facilities It was very clean situated on a hill with excellent views overlooking some of the town and the steam from the "Secret Lagoon". The rooms were quiet, a good size with an ample size comfortable double bed. Breakfast was well presented with a huge variety on offer of good quality food. The staff spoke English and were helpful once approached. Our only comment for improvement would be a kettle in the room to make a drink. The other two hotels visited had these hot drink facilities in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Lovely staff

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Ebookers
The room we got in this hotel was huge in comparison to other double rooms in Iceland! All the normal things were included wifi and tv. The outdoor area is pretty but the lights outside were out of order the night we were visiting so we weren't in the hottubs. Dinner was lovely in the hotel. We were leaving very early the next morning (6 am) and our room was rang to ensure we were up as well we were given coffee to go as we left.
5 out of 5
by Kelly

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very small town. There's one restaurant across the street and a convenient store across the street. Stay here in winter if you're looking to see the northern lights. They gave us a wake up call at 2am to see them. Clean and friendly staff. 2 hot tubs outside that are nice to look at the stars in at night :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

As a stopover

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Easy to locate, good for a stopover for sights on the Golden Circle route. It was also near secret lagoon - was interesting taking a dip in the cold weather.