Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
The condo unit we were in had some issues, tv was malfunctioning, smoke alarm was beeping intermittently, and blinds did not work properly. Also, large south facing windows and no air conditioning made it uncomfortably hot in the afternoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Condo nestled in the mountains

Posted Aug 31, 2015
ASPENS- In keeping with the surroundings, the facility is sparsely staffed. After you get around finding your keys and location of your rooms, a pleasing vista of mountain peaks and thick woods surrounds you. The units may be close to each other but with everyone sharing the common goal of enjoying a peaceful vacation away from the bustle, privacy is ensured. Indoor parking is available but not engineered. Upkeep of the units is fair - our unit had the venitian blinds stripped off but the unit was well equipped for meals and even a hidden closet with built in laundry. Overall, the clear starry night will comfort you that you made the right choice. We saw our first aurora after 8 years! Close to the kicking horse gondola which is also the gateway to some awesome trails and sights not to mention wintertime activities! A hot tub to return to after a tiring day! All in all a great value. Would definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville

Self-catered option as cozy as home

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Good access to local trails and great near-lift location. A great place to come back to after a long day's exertions. A bit far from the town of Golden so be thorough with your shopping list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
There is no Air conditioning throughout the whole hotel facilities. No screening window in our appartment living room. Terrible to live during the summer days. It is far from cities and towns, deep into the mountain top. No where to visit at evening or night. Disappointed overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Kickinghorse Ski in/out

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros Nice location, with the ability to ski in and out. Great hottub right on the deck and laundry facilities in the room. Cons The condo was a smaller than we expected and the deck and hot tub of the above unit were directly over the apartment which was rather noisy. I would recommend staying here with groups of 4 and up to 6 if you can handle sleeping on a pull-out couch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont

Beautiful location for a resonable price!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We loved the Aspens. 2 adults and 2 kids stayed and we all loved it. 3 towels was not enough. Bring your own. I found it extremely annoying since there is a hot tub as well. Also it needed new sheets that fit a proper queen. Otherwise great stay. I would go again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster

2 days at Kicking Horse Resort

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: A comfortable stay. Similar to booking on VRBO but need to check-in at main resort lodge.
Cons: Staff could be more helpful.
Location: Grizzly Refuge is interesting. Lots of hiking and advanced mountain biking trails. Kids loved nearby horseback riding. Whitewater rafting fun.
Check-in a little awkward as you need to go to the main resort building (Glacier Mountaineer - only about a 2 minute drive away). The Aspens are privately owned townhouses. Each townhouse may vary in terms of amenities. For example, not all townhouses are equipped with WIFI. Our townhouse was, but no WIFI password was provided and the staff were… unhelpful at getting this information. Most townhouses did have a private BBQ unit and ours had a private hot tub, which was nice. For the most part, full kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. Convenient location close to the "village" at Kicking Horse Resort and only a pleasant 15 min drive to the town of Golden. Housekeeping services weekly and daily housekeeping available at extra cost. Each unit does have laundry machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tara from Edmonton, AB

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The hotel was comfortable and the hot tub was really nice to relax in at night.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the ski hill. Far from Golden, but really, I loved the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Candace from Calgary, AB, Canada

Little piece of heaven

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Price/hot tub
We stayed summer time for two nights with 4 children ages 2-12 and they loved it! Condo was perfect and had everything you need from a full kitchen to a washer/dryer. The hot tub was great in the evening when it cools off , we even had a barbecue. For activities the gondola is a must, you can hike all over . The whole experience being at Aspens was amazing:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monkey King from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Awesome location and lodge

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Clean and offered everything we need, even beyond!
Cons: Indoor parking is tight. Only one bathroom for two bedroom lodge.
Location: Location. I can see white cloud floating around the mountain top through lodging window and hot tub.
We really enjoyed our staying at Aspens lodging at Kicking Horse. For sure we would like to come back for skiing. Only concern we might have is the indoor parking. It is tight to park in. But overall I still like to give 5 as super! Thanks!