Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty little rustic cabin

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Lovely little cabin, perfect if you want the peace and quiet of the "middle of nowhere". However although it is classed as Golden BC it is about 40k away from Golden down a lengthy bumpy logging road (easy to miss at night). Beautiful place but for our purpose on this trip (a stopover en route to Vancouver) it was a bit too off the beaten track.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing lodge in the wilderness

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: atmosphere was great!
Location: close to Golden so not so far from everything but far enough in the bush that you feel like nothing is around you. There are many hikes and sights
it was warm and cozy friendly staff and an amazing location.
1 out of 5
by BethM from Alberta

not as it appears..

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels
This lodge is located halfway between Field and Golden BC, quite a ways down a logging road. The Lodge is not as it appears in the photos and is in need of quite a lot of repair...Was very dissatisfied and didn't end staying the entire night.... No food services available and only one hour notice given before arrival about inconvenience...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgie from Brisbane, Australia

Wonderful wagons - smores, star gazing, & bears!!

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Location: We went to Golden for dinner and Field for lunch, gorgeous restaurants/cafes with great prices!
We had a great night stargazing next to the fire, and staying in two wagons! There had been a wedding on the night before and our wagons had old sheets in them but that was quickly noticed and fixed by the manager. The guests also left a lot of uncovered food/bins around which attracted a black bear to the camp site/wagons site which was a little scary when it came to say hello to us and look for food once we were in bed! Thankfully they gave us some bear spray and we were comfortable with our visitor! All in all it was an amazing experience for something off the beaten track, not for the faint at heart or luxury seekers! It was basic with rustic charm, and we appreciated the hot coffee and home made breads before departing the next morning! The size of the property was huge and definitely some areas could use some TLC but the natural beauty of the area was what won us over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Alberta

Adorable and secluded

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The hotel was rustic and everything was hand made. The location was perfect, felt like the middle of nowhere, but it didn't take long to get to.
This old hunting lodge was so rustic and beautiful. Having a cup of tea on the porch while looking at the horses grazing and the mountains in the background was perfect. The other guests and the staff were friendly, and it felt like a vacation at a relatives home-comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beaverfoot Lodge was Very Disappointing

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels
We were excited to spend the night at the Lodge, but it was very disappointing. The pictures make it look like a beautiful lodge, but when you pull up you start to question your decision. The service was poor when we arrived our room wasn’t ready for another hour and a half and we arrived after the check-in time. However, this probably led to the best part of the day as we went down and visited with the campers and there was beautiful view of the mountains. We got to our room and it wasn’t clean. My daughter dropped her sippy cup and under the bed there was a ton of dust balls. Our room’s only window wouldn’t close. It made for a very chilly night, however a bit entertaining. The management lectured their staff right below our room. You could hear him talking about his inability to even leave for an hour. They had some contradictory policies. None of the guests knew when they had to order dinner by, but it was important as that is the only place to eat for miles. So please remember to eat before you arrive or place an order for dinner. We went hungry that night. I am not sure you want to eat there as the kitchen is dirty. One of the campers pulled in and immediately turned around. Initially a staff member refunded his money, but when the owner returned they called and told them they were charging their credit card. This just showed the staff had no idea about the policies. I had to apologize to my family for booking at the Lodge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Drove along way...but didn't stay!

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels
This place really needs to be cleaned up if people are expected to sleep in those chuckwagons!!! A great idea and beautiful scenery but the chuckwagons are falling apart and the mattresses need replacing. We looked forward to this experience but decided to drive back to Lake Louise and gey a hotel room. They seemed very friendly but my daughters didn't want to spend the night once they saw the condition of the wagons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Edmonton, Canada

Covered Wagon much like Camping!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
I stayed in one of the covered wagons - please be aware that these are like staying in a tent but more comfortable as you have a wood floor and a real mattress to sleep on. As this is in the mountains, it gets very cool at night (even in the summer) so be sure to have extra blankets and/or warm snuggly clothes to keep you warm at night! It's somewhat like staying in a communal campground - your neighbors may be up late by the central campfire talking and making noise - so don't get upset if you are an "early to bed" type sleeper. The surrounding area is spectacular and there are many great photo opportunities to be had. Also be aware that the trail horses will wander the grounds at certain times of the day which I thought was cool. The staff is very friendly and will fix you a very nice breakfast before you leave in the morning - Unless you bring your own food, I would recommend staying for breakfast as it's a long drive back to Golden or anyplace else that has an eatery of any kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenna from Red Deer, AB, Canada

Wow!

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Lighting in the room to read
Location: In the middle of nowhere, but worth the drive
Loved staying here!! Everyone was helpful and amazing. Trail ride was awesome, food was great and the view is breathtaking! Definitely a close getaway from reality. Can't wait to come back and stay in a cabin!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Rustic but Comfortable

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Off the grid
Cons: More of a bed and breakfast than lodge/hotel.
When I booked through Expedia, I called and asked the Expedia rep if the room had air conditioning. The rep confirmed the room didn't but advised it had a window so I booked it. I was very surprised then to receive my email confirmation advising that I had actually just booked a covered wagon! I figured I would check it out anyway since the price was very reasonable. The lady running the lodge was very nice and offered to upgrade me to a room. I did upgrade because the covered wagon was pretty rustic with no window and the washroom was a ways away. The lodge itself was fine, our room was good. If you are looking for an out of the way place with simple but comfortable accommodation, this may be the place for you but be advised it is actually not in Golden but 25 km away down the highway then 15 km more up a gravel road.