Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Adequate for an overnight stat

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Hotel looked tired. In need of a thorough clean and refurbishment.Probably far more cosy for a winter stay than a summer visit. Disappointed to find restaurant closed although the adjoining pub was adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charged credit card

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: Communication with the clients to resolve problems
The hotel was excellent but when I revised my credit card statement, I notice that it was charge double and we stayed just one night. I left several messages and nobody has contacted me. I left a message with Expedia and they told me the hotel does not want to credit back the extra night they charged me by their mistake. Too bad!!! We had come back with such a beautiful impression of Canada and the Canadians
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Hi, I'm sorry there seems to be some confusion over your claims. we are unable to check this out as you have used ;Anonymous' status. It is also of concern your comment you claim is from Expedia! Would you please contact Winston Lodge and ask for the Resident Manager who will gladly assist you in your claim. best regards, Dave Woodman
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute, quiet hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We were greeted and shown to our room. Really cute, great food at the restaurant, and a collection of board games in the lobby. Views were stunning from our room! I highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Hi, thanks for your great review it's very much appreciated considering some of the comments we receive at times. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will see you again. Best regards, Dave Woodman.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COCHRANE

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: BREAKFAST
Cons: CLEANLINESS
WE HAD STAYED HERE BEFORE AND FOUND IT GOOD. THIS TIME, IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE ROOM HAD NOT BEEN VACUUMED AND THE GARBAGE AND RECYCLING BINS IN THE ROOM HAD NOT BEEN EMPTIED. IT MADE YOU WONDER WHAT ELSE WAS NOT DONE. HOW THIS CAN BE MISSED IS BEYOND ME. BREAKFAST WAS GOOD. LOCATION ON THE HILL WAS ALSO GOOD. STAFF WERE NEW AND NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE AREA - WHERE TO EAT, ETC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Hi Norm, Thank you for your review and feedback, good or bad they all help. we are sorry that your room was incomplete upon arrival, staff have been reminded of these issues and assure you the matter has been attended to. We are extremely short staffed at the moment just like many places in BC. we are dependant upon new staff some of whom have only been with us a few days. As you mentioned you were a retuning guest to the area, I hope this was not too much of an inconvenience. Once again, we apologize for our down fall and thank you for raising these issues. best regards, Dave Woodman.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Not bad

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Hotel was a bit of a drive from town, but it was a nice drive. The hotel staff was very pleasant and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We also enjoyed the nice wine glasses, (a lot of motels have no wine glasses or stubby ones). And the tea in the morning was lovely. The rooms were spacious, but okay and I thought it was a bit over priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Hi Brian, Thank you for your review, it is important to us and helps us maintain standards and guest expectations. We are pleased that overall you had a comfortable stay and hope to see again. best regards, Dave Woodman.
4 out of 5
by Sally Ann

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent breakfast - loved the fresh flowers on the tables! Close enough to ski resort that you can walk to lifts. Also have a ski storage room complete with boot drying system which was handy. Dinner restaurant Corks in basement was also excellent. Only thing we couldn't figure out was the hot tub - not constantly turned on and no real instructions handy to let you know how to work it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Not worth $300/night but great location.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
What we expected. We were able to enjoy the surroundings and had a great couple of days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Dave Woodman, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Not a typical ski-in/ski-out hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing really stands out.
Cons: Price should be half.
Location: It is not near anything. It is a 20 min drive to town.
The property was advertised as ski-in/ski-out. It is NOT. The property is not located on the mountain. It is in a cul-de-sac accross the road from the mountain. It is far enough away that walking in your boots and carrying ski equipment is painful. Yet it is too close to drive. It is self check-in/check-out. Staff is scarce and spread between two side-by-side properties (Winston Lodge next door). We checked ourselves in - which turned out to be no problem because I phoned ahead and made pre-arrangments. If you are arriving after 8pm and have not made arrangements for keys you will have a hard time getting into your room. Free breakfast was average to below average quality and choice. Overall this accomodation is way over priced for what you get. If i had paid about $130-150/night the review would have been less punishing but it cost me $300/night which is completely overpriced. I would not stay there again. Dissappointed.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Great Stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful, cozy lodge. Enjoyed hot tub surrounded by snow. Great pub across the driveway. Friendly staff. Boot dryer a bonus. Close to Kicking Horse, short easy walk to Gondola. Amazing views and restaurant at top of Gondola so non skiers can visit. Hope to return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017
Thank you for your very positive comments on your stay with us, we are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us and helps keep abreast of guest needs and or expectations. Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor customer service

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the copper horse/Winston lodge for 6 nights. Pretty clean place. Comfortable. The bar and restaurant located in house is a bit over priced. The place was dead. Staff was scarce. Customer service was awful. After staying for 5 nights a big snow storm was rolling in and our rental car was awful so we requested to check out a night early. The staff didn't want to hear it and was unwilling to accommodate an easy request after 5 nights of spending money in their establishments. The place was empty. One night of one more empty room would have changed nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017
Hi, thank you for your comments of your recent stay. Good or bad reviews are all discussed and are a means of keeping ourselves abreast of guest expectations. As you mention, a storm was heading towards our area and was the reason for your early checkout, apart from the poor condition of your rental car, neither of which we are responsible for. Your reservation was made with Expedia and any discussion of cancellation/refund has to go through their channels. The Duty Manager would have explained that to you had you stopped abusing him. I apologise that you thought the staff did not want to know about it, but attitude has a lot to do with your complaint.