Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only advantage is next to Lake Emerald

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Staffs at front desk are not very willing to help out any tourist questions. Room condition was quite terrible, carpet is old, and door lock in the room was not working properly. I need to block the room door with a furniture at night. There are some very unconsiderate guest knocking on the front door of the chalet to wake up guest from another room upstairs in early morning and I have to open door for them to stop their noise. No one is fixing it during my 2 nights stay. I highly recommend a serous renovation of the hotel room given the lake view is very nice. For this price, I was expecting a reasonable 4 stars liked hotel but what I got is more like a 2 stars quality. Kind of disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Korea

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Excellent location, good conditon room. I like this lodge and want to revisit this lodge soon. However, wifi is only available at the lobby and it's connection is very poor. You can enjoy the lake becasue you can't use internet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views of Emerald Lake

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms with wood burning fireplaces and balconies over looking the lake
Beautiful, quaint and quiet setting on Emerald Lake make this lodge a great opportunity to get away from it all. No TV, no wifi, no cell service. Just the lake and the trails. Had a great time sitting by the fire in our room at night and enjoying the great restaurants of the lodge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Nil children activity under 8

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Was put down the line of check in because I used Expedia ,it became a deficit and as such had to wait hours
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location but staff needs training

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location was awesome. The lake is beautiful any time of the day.
Cons: Train the front desk staff properly .
The lodge is on the beautiful location but the rooms are showing signs of age. The worst thing was that the front desk staff seems jaded and was not helpful at all. The restaurant was way overpriced for mediocre food. There were some nice hiking trails around the lodge but they get quite muddy on the other end of the lake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful location but facility is a little tired

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location around the lake is the selling point. Lots of trails nearby to hike.
Cons: The facility could be better maintained.
We stayed two nights at Emerald Lake Lodge. The setting is very beautiful. The lodge and the cabins are older and not well maintained. Room balconies need painting as the paint is peeling. The carpets look old, worn and dirty. The environment is comfortable. Not many amenities come with the high room prices. There are no guided hikes. Canoes and breakfasts are not included. However, the breakfasts are reasonably priced if you order off the menu versus getting the buffet. One nice amenity they do have that other lodges do not is the guest spa which has a commercial whirlpool and a dry sauna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Lovely, upscale resort in the midst of nature

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Couldn't get over sitting in a warm hot tub in the rain looking out over the mountains and the freezing glacier-fed lake. What a marvellous getaway!
Cons: Be aware that parking next to the hotel is not overnight - simply park at the guest site, gather your bags and dial reception for a shuttle.
Location: Walk around the hike for a relatively easy 5km, or rent a canoe for an hour or two to paddle across it. The only thing you can't do is swim - glacial!
Loved the peacefulness and comfort of the cabin facing one of the world's most beautiful glacier-fed lakes. It truly lives up to its name! The food at the Mount Burgess restaurant was lovely, but sitting right by the windows gets a bit loud.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016
First time there and it was nice. There needs to be more food options for guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice setting not much else.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
It was a very disappointing experience for the price. The setting is pretty but would sooner visit the lake then stay at the hotel again. The front desk staff seemed like they did not care. Went for breakfast in the morning and told it would be a 20 minute wait for breakfast. We were told 30 minutes later a mistake had been made in the kitchen. In total we waited 45 minutes to get breakfast due to volume of people. We talked to a couple across from us who experienced the same delay. They covered the cost of our coffee as an apology. We know the lodge doesn't bank on return visits but as someone who lives close by we will not be using their restaurants or hotels in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

Get away cabin

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Very remote.The views of the peaks and waterfalls. The food was better than anything that we had in Banff earlier in the week.
Cons: Carpet could be upgraded.
Location: The hike around the lake and the Yoho trail was one of the most beautiful hikes my wife and I have ever taken.
We spent 4 nights here. It was so nice to spend some alone time without the bus loads of people that go to Banff and Lake Louise.