Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Nil children activity under 8

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Was put down the line of check in because I used Expedia ,it became a deficit and as such had to wait hours
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location but staff needs training

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location was awesome. The lake is beautiful any time of the day.
Cons: Train the front desk staff properly .
The lodge is on the beautiful location but the rooms are showing signs of age. The worst thing was that the front desk staff seems jaded and was not helpful at all. The restaurant was way overpriced for mediocre food. There were some nice hiking trails around the lodge but they get quite muddy on the other end of the lake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful location but facility is a little tired

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location around the lake is the selling point. Lots of trails nearby to hike.
Cons: The facility could be better maintained.
We stayed two nights at Emerald Lake Lodge. The setting is very beautiful. The lodge and the cabins are older and not well maintained. Room balconies need painting as the paint is peeling. The carpets look old, worn and dirty. The environment is comfortable. Not many amenities come with the high room prices. There are no guided hikes. Canoes and breakfasts are not included. However, the breakfasts are reasonably priced if you order off the menu versus getting the buffet. One nice amenity they do have that other lodges do not is the guest spa which has a commercial whirlpool and a dry sauna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Lovely, upscale resort in the midst of nature

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Couldn't get over sitting in a warm hot tub in the rain looking out over the mountains and the freezing glacier-fed lake. What a marvellous getaway!
Cons: Be aware that parking next to the hotel is not overnight - simply park at the guest site, gather your bags and dial reception for a shuttle.
Location: Walk around the hike for a relatively easy 5km, or rent a canoe for an hour or two to paddle across it. The only thing you can't do is swim - glacial!
Loved the peacefulness and comfort of the cabin facing one of the world's most beautiful glacier-fed lakes. It truly lives up to its name! The food at the Mount Burgess restaurant was lovely, but sitting right by the windows gets a bit loud.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016
First time there and it was nice. There needs to be more food options for guests
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice setting not much else.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
It was a very disappointing experience for the price. The setting is pretty but would sooner visit the lake then stay at the hotel again. The front desk staff seemed like they did not care. Went for breakfast in the morning and told it would be a 20 minute wait for breakfast. We were told 30 minutes later a mistake had been made in the kitchen. In total we waited 45 minutes to get breakfast due to volume of people. We talked to a couple across from us who experienced the same delay. They covered the cost of our coffee as an apology. We know the lodge doesn't bank on return visits but as someone who lives close by we will not be using their restaurants or hotels in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Littleton, CO

Get away cabin

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Very remote.The views of the peaks and waterfalls. The food was better than anything that we had in Banff earlier in the week.
Cons: Carpet could be upgraded.
Location: The hike around the lake and the Yoho trail was one of the most beautiful hikes my wife and I have ever taken.
We spent 4 nights here. It was so nice to spend some alone time without the bus loads of people that go to Banff and Lake Louise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beautiful location with view of Emerald Lake

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location, scenery, hiking trail around lake, away from hordes of tourists.
Cons: Room cleaning could be better. All employees were friendly, but one was clearly stoned.
Location: Natural bridge is awesome, as is Takakaa Falls. Best meal for the price is "The Siding" in Field.
Outstanding location far from 'Disneyland' at Lake Louise. Beautiful location. We are glad that our room was on second (top) floor of our unit. The added drive north of Banff/Lake Louise is worth it to get away from tourist hordes, as long as you can avoid the many nasty speed traps with friendly officers who love to add to the park coffers. Some of the speed limits on the toll road are ridiculously low (50-70 km/hr) and they frequently change to faster speeds (90-100 km/hr).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Emerald Lake June 2016 Stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Without doubt the lake is a beautiful part of the world and I'd recommend anyone to visit but... that's almost where the good part ends. The rooms are old, dated and in need of repairs - the lights blow when you plug in another device and maintenance takes ages to attend. Everyone we saw including us was left to tow there bags from reception to their room. For some, like us it was up hill and about 75m. We're young and relatively fit but I really felt for older people trying to move heavy suitcases up hill. The food is over priced and apart from mains and ccocktails its not worth the money. But if you were thinking of taking your own food think again. They prohibited it, there's no fridge in the room and the ice machine is "broken". Walk around the lake, enjoys a meal if you like but don't pay to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kapaa, Hi

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Lovely, cozy, Staff needs.training to make 4 stars.