Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Despite the price, I expected more.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: They're affordable. They're in a good location if you're staying in town. The rooms were nice and toasty. The wood paneled ceiling is cozy.
Cons: Aforementioned rudeness, cleanlieness, and outdatedness.
Location: Golden Taps was a good spot to play pool and drink beers.
Checked in, and was told that the hot tub wasn't working. This was disappointing, as it's one of my deal breakers for booking a hotel on a snowboard trip. I requested a better rate, as the main reason I booked my room was for something that wasn't available. I was given no discount, but was given the offer to call another hotel and book something else. This was over New Years weekend, and they knew full well that the whole town was sold out. It felt like the hotel staff member was doing the absolute minimum possible thing to resolve this issue... just wanted to cover herself. Overall, I'd say she was somewhat rude about the whole thing, and it started my stay off on the wrong foot. Once checked in, the room was slightly poorer than I expected for a two star motel. Everything in the room was severely dated. The TV was a Zenith straight out of the 80's and had a super high pitched sound coming from it, so we couldn't use it. The bedding looks like it's from the 70's or 80's too. Not sure how old the bed was, but it was okay, if not pretty firm. The pillows were garbage. I would have been much happier in this bed if I used my own sleeping bag and pillow on it. The bathroom fan sounded like a helicopter, and there was mold on the bathtub caulking. Otherwise the place was pretty clean. The walls were quite thin, and for our first night, we had some ridiculous neighbours who drunkenly played with the door jam at 4AM. Not the motel's fault there, but the walls were thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by front desk., Hotel Management
Jesse. I am sorry you were not satified with your stay. Unfortunatley the hot tub has been closed due to a water pipe that burst which also broke the boiler that heats the hot tub. The staff did try to get someone to come and fix it but being it was during the holiday no one was available until the New Year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Cheap ski accommodations with fridge and microwave

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Cons: The beds will make you sore sleeping in them since they are incredibly hard.
Location: Right down town Golden so walking to stuff was great!
An excellent price for somewhere to crash between ski days. The beds are pretty uncomfortable but the rooms are clean and its nice having a fridge and microwave. Also NO bed bugs to be found which is my main concern when staying places so I was very happy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Economical hotel. Clean and good location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
We booked in for two nights on a recent trip. We arrived late and the manager made arrangements for us to get our room key late as front desk closes. The mnager accommodaed us parking a large vehicle as well. The room was adequate and clean. The showereason head needs replacing but the bathroom was clean. Great value and staff was great. The location allowed us to walk most places. We would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and tidy, close to downtown.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Went to Golden to mountain bike needed hotel with bath/shower and close to restaurants and downtown shops, a good choice,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget accommodation

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to the little downtown area, just 2 blocks away. Room smelled like dog a bit. Not sure if there were pet friendly rooms vs. non-pet friendly rooms, but it wasn't a big enough issue to address the staff about it. Can't expect too much for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Basic and cheap

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Basic and cheap and old but did the job while passing through
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stopover place

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Good shower.
Cons: Some newer facilities.
Location: Good location right in the centre of town.
Pleasant stay. Good location. Nice staff member who checked us in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Motel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Very quiet. Quick check in and out. Clean. Good price for the room. Hard bed and pillows though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good location; basic motel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Good location - walking distance to historic downtown and to several restaurants; short drive to the mountains.
Cons: The motel could do with an update in decor and towels.
Location: Hiking, para-gliding; downtown market on Saturdays in the summer
The Rondo Motel is your basic dated motel; exactly what I was expecting from the on-line photos. The rooms are small but clean. Our room came with a mini fridge which came in handy to store our fresh fruit from the nearby market. The towels were small and only soap is provided so remember to bring your own shampoo. My only real complaints are that we could hear the plumbing from the upstairs unit but that's on par with most 3-star hotels I've been in and that the hot tub is not open during the summer (it was a cold weekend so the hot tub would have been enjoyable). The staff was accommodating - my mom flew into Calgary unexpectedly so joined us on our trip to Golden the next day so I had to make a last minute change to our room as we needed 2 beds instead of 1. The motel was sold out on Expedia and on the motel site but the staff was able to switch us to a 2 bed room when I called. They also were helpful with restaurant recommendations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
small town to stay .have not more hotel to select.