Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Winter arrival. Heat was turned up and light was on. Everything was ready to sign upon arrival at reception desk. Quick, efficient and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to welcome you comfortably. Hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I was disappointed when I booked a room that said queen and when we got there we got a room with two doubles. My husband and I can't comfortably sleep on a double together. And ended up sleeping in separate beds. The cleanliness was bad. The bathroom door was a dirty yellow like it hadn't been washed ever. And there was a hair on the toilet seat when we first got to the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
With a week of - 20 some weather we had decided to safe gaurd guests by assigning specific rooms we had heated up prior. We had upgraded some rooms to the 2 queen beds rooms and some of these are not the extra deep beds but on the main floor . We apologize that your expectations were not met and will work harder to make sure our standards are kept for each room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC

Easy access to Hwy 1. Quiet.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Cons: An earlier time option for breakfast. 8 a.m. when you are travelling through is not always the best.
Location: I love Revelstoke. Riverwalk, lots of restaurants downtown. Friendly place.
The room is small but adequate. Only instant coffee available. Would be nice to have a teabag too. Hotel wasn't full - don't think there is much insulation between rooms. Bed was comfortable. Good budget option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Brenda, however, I would like to point out a few things. We offer brewed coffee and Red Rose tea in suite for our guests, and ready made coffee is always available in the breakfast room. Our breakfast is open from 7am to 9:30am, and we instruct our guests to this information on check-in. Perhaps you were mistaken as to which property you were reviewing, as we understand many of our guests stay at multiple hotels during their travels. However; we appreciate your input and hope you will choose to stay with us here at the Travelodge in Golden again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The room was very clean, a bit outdated but overall great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great waterslide!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We're happy that you enjoyed your visit. Please come again in the future to check out our new upgrades and renovations! Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Dirty room- was it because I had dog

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly. and the location was convenient.
Cons: The room was very dirty. The sheets were clean but it the carpet was filthy and there were just dirt and stains everywhere in the bathroom. The water pressure was next to nonexistent. But by far, the worst part was the carpet. I spilt some water on the floor, and immediately cleaned it up. What was horrifying about that was the very clear impression of where the carpet was now "clean" was substantially lighter than t rest of the carpet, that was disgusting, I realize I had dogs with me and and that those rooms are always designated as the gross old ones, but they could definitely still be clean
Location: Didn't use
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. Our designated pet rooms do tend to get a little dirtier then our other rooms because of our 4 legged guests. However, we are in the process of completing some major renovations, and would like to invite you back so we can show you that this is not our usual standard. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC

Travelodge: This is not your best

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location was easy to find and was within an easy walk of several restaurants.
Cons: Housekeeping definitely needs to be improved. It was clean but incomplete. When it is no longer summer, they need to upgrade to winter bedding.
Location: Walking distance to several restaurants. Lots of activities in the area. Located alongside Hwy1, but set back enough to avoid traffic noise.
This is not the standard which I would have expected from a reliable brand. I checked in well after 4:00pm. I drove up to my room and noticed that the door was ajar. When I cautiously pushed the door open I could see that it was not made up. I walked back to the desk and the clerk seemed a bit dismayed but immediately gave me another room, apologizing for the inconvenience. I didn't spend more than a couple of minutes putting my bag in the 2nd room before heading out for a walk to a nearby restaurant for a late lunch/early supper. Upon my return from supper I decided to have a relaxing bath rather than go over to the hot tub. When I closed the bathroom door I found a used towel from previous guests hanging behind the door. Gross! I was too tired to bother changing rooms yet again so I just "lived with it" and wiped everything down myself before I used it. The room had one of those noisy wall-mounted heater/AC combos. I hate those. I figured that it might not be cold enough to need a heater. That was until I crawled into bed and realized that there was only 1 very thin blanket on the bed, but it was wrapped in a top sheet to make it look like a duvet. I went out to my car and retrieved my own blanket and used it. No I did not complain about the 2nd room. I'd had a long day and couldn't be bothered. However, Golden has lots of other accommodation and I will choose another one next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We apologise that our housekeeping practice was not up to proper standards for your stay. We do have a Fix It In 5 policy and would have been happy to address your ongoing concerns while you were here. However, the best I can do at this time is offer and apology and invite you back again on your next trip so we may show you that this is not how we normally operate. Thank you your feedback, and we will make sure these issues are brought forward to the proper departments. Warm regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great location, enjoyed taking my children to this accommodation. Would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Convenient comfort for weary family

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: We stopped over after a long drive, so no good ideas
The kids loved the waterslide and the room was not fancy, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast bar was lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear your family enjoyed the facilities. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford

In a good location away from the main highway

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location and amenities. The room was already warm for us!
Excellent service and hotel has coffee, fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock and microwave. Very good breakfast as well. Did not use their pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the added value of room amenities and breakfast. Please come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Spacious suite, great for a family, friendly front desk staff, nice park to use
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodation. Thanks for staying and we hope to see you again soon!