Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

2 Person Jacuzzi and King Size Bed

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location was good, bed and tub were great.
Cons: Better blinds or different lights outside.
Location: Close to food and a minute from downtown.
Efficient check in, they had everything ready to go the minute we walked through the door. We did a very thorough bed bug check, there were no bugs found. Our room was on the outside corner of the building over the lobby. The parking lot and side of the building have very harsh orange lights which showed right through the blinds. These lights were disruptive to our sleep and kept the room illuminated in orange all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback K. You'll be happy to know that for the next time you come to stay, we have replaced the blinds in the corner suites. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice clean place

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: more flyers from restaurants who deliver
check in was easy, staff was very friendly, room was clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we will take your input into consideration when evaluating guest comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Booked in within 1 hr. Good beds, great breakfast. Staff informed us of hwy closures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that we were able to assist with your travel plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Winter arrival. Heat was turned up and light was on. Everything was ready to sign upon arrival at reception desk. Quick, efficient and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to welcome you comfortably. Hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I was disappointed when I booked a room that said queen and when we got there we got a room with two doubles. My husband and I can't comfortably sleep on a double together. And ended up sleeping in separate beds. The cleanliness was bad. The bathroom door was a dirty yellow like it hadn't been washed ever. And there was a hair on the toilet seat when we first got to the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
With a week of - 20 some weather we had decided to safe gaurd guests by assigning specific rooms we had heated up prior. We had upgraded some rooms to the 2 queen beds rooms and some of these are not the extra deep beds but on the main floor . We apologize that your expectations were not met and will work harder to make sure our standards are kept for each room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC

Easy access to Hwy 1. Quiet.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Cons: An earlier time option for breakfast. 8 a.m. when you are travelling through is not always the best.
Location: I love Revelstoke. Riverwalk, lots of restaurants downtown. Friendly place.
The room is small but adequate. Only instant coffee available. Would be nice to have a teabag too. Hotel wasn't full - don't think there is much insulation between rooms. Bed was comfortable. Good budget option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Brenda, however, I would like to point out a few things. We offer brewed coffee and Red Rose tea in suite for our guests, and ready made coffee is always available in the breakfast room. Our breakfast is open from 7am to 9:30am, and we instruct our guests to this information on check-in. Perhaps you were mistaken as to which property you were reviewing, as we understand many of our guests stay at multiple hotels during their travels. However; we appreciate your input and hope you will choose to stay with us here at the Travelodge in Golden again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Even though the hotel was under construction we enjoyed our stay since they put us away from the roofing construction. The rooms seemed to still be a work in progress but we're clean and comfortable. Front desk was wonderful! Very polite and a great sense of humor!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and patience with our renovation process. We are happy to hear you still enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The room was very clean, a bit outdated but overall great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great waterslide!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We're happy that you enjoyed your visit. Please come again in the future to check out our new upgrades and renovations! Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A comfortable place along a busy road

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived very tired after a long detour due to rock blocking Hway 1 - and were happy to relax in the hot tub and dry sauna! Friendly person at reception and we enjoyed the breakfast that included yoghurt as well as a choice of cereals and some fresh fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that we could ease your travel setbacks and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Dirty room- was it because I had dog

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly. and the location was convenient.
Cons: The room was very dirty. The sheets were clean but it the carpet was filthy and there were just dirt and stains everywhere in the bathroom. The water pressure was next to nonexistent. But by far, the worst part was the carpet. I spilt some water on the floor, and immediately cleaned it up. What was horrifying about that was the very clear impression of where the carpet was now "clean" was substantially lighter than t rest of the carpet, that was disgusting, I realize I had dogs with me and and that those rooms are always designated as the gross old ones, but they could definitely still be clean
Location: Didn't use
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Jessica, Front Desk Agent, Hotel Management
We apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. Our designated pet rooms do tend to get a little dirtier then our other rooms because of our 4 legged guests. However, we are in the process of completing some major renovations, and would like to invite you back so we can show you that this is not our usual standard. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again.