Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Mostly pleasAnt helpful staff but housekeeping poo

Posted Aug 22, 2017
BAR STAFF, RECEPTION AND CONCIERGE VERY HELPFUL.MOST RESTAURANT STAFF GOOD. INFORMATION ABOUT WHAt Was happening each day and where was not always clear. ONLY FOUND OUT On LAST DAY THERE WAS A BUS TO THE BEACH. Had to complain daily that towels or tea bags and milk were missing. Beds often not made or cups washed. Blooded duvet cover put on one day. Only one friendly member of housekeeping staff. Food ok but sometimes menus repetitive.
3 out of 5
by Farouk from Philadelphia Pa. USA

misleading hotel name

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
1.Service was very poor, AC and mini bar were not working properly. during our five days stay several times I complained to the front desk they sent a technician but he didn’t solve the problem because their cooling system are very old. 2.Room and its furniture are very cheap and badly decorated as well as corridors 3.Restaurant were very crowded dirty you can’t easily find plates and utensils. 4.Far from the beach 5. Its name (Helton) is misleading, I don’t recommend this hotel its not worth the money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly bartenders

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nice stay beautiful view. Fairly good location to the beach.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time at Golden Sands

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and room. About a 2 block walk to the beach with great scenery and nice attractions to partake in.
3 out of 5
by Catrinel from Laval canada

Internet

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
No internet inthe room. The connection at the reception very poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing works

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Elevator, AC in the rooms, access card reader to the gym & wifi were broken. The food wasn't good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Geno B.

Everythink perfect,but...see more

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Orbitz
Perfect hotel,food,service-but my proof of purchase has been missing 3 (!)times for 10 days-front desk try charghe my credit card every time,last time-20 min before departure..so-print you pay stuff more then 2 times...and keep it.
2 out of 5
by SprinklerGuy

Think before you book.

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels
Seriously this is not a Double Tree Hilton Hotel. Yes it says that it is but trust me it's not. The hotel is clean etc but it is old, I think this may have been part of the Helios Hotel which is joined to at some point then they split it. Most of the Holiday Websites say it's 5* but it is not, probably 3* at best. The reception staff were ok and helped out if they could but I wouldn't say they go out of their way to help. The general staff barmen etc are just plain miserable. This hotel is soon to demolished and a new hotel built in it's place, so it might be worth visiting then but for now give it a wide birth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

definitively not 4 stars hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2012
definitively not 4 stars hotel, not clean , breakfast max 2 stars