Ratings based on 1,407 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abu dhabi

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Excellent vacation here! We enjoyed our 4 days stay here. Perfect location. Staff were all friendly snd helpful. The breakfast was simply superb. Facilities are clean and well maintained. We surely go back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

First Time Visitors to Malaysia

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: All the staff were always courteous polite and helpful at all times.
Cons: Bed - was a bit hard
Location: Night clubs, malls, MRT (train services) restaurants were all within 10 mins walking distance.
We had a wonderful time at Hotel Istana. The full credit goes to all the staff at this Hotel who were always helpful and polite. All our questions were attended to quickly and efficiently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Good hotel and nice staff. Good amenities and located near to a big mall with international brands and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic staff

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: It is the staff that takes me to this hotel every time I am in KL. The facilities are good here the food is reasonably priced in the resturants,
Cons: The management knows where the improvements should go and they are working on those areas
Location: Perfect location
From the time you arrive there are members of the satff trying to help you in every way possible. The staff at the lobby bar are wonderful, they are so courteous and friendly. They repect you and call you with the guests surname, (ie Mr or Mrs or Miss).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing for the price

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Breakfast & Room
We stayed in Hotel Istana for 5 days. It is well located at center city & walkable to few famous shopping malls. Break was amazing with decent number of options. There were 20+ additional food counters on the eve of Ramadan. The best thing was we booked Club room, but was give Junior Club suite with good view of Petronas Towers. Staff was amazing & always there to help with a beautiful smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Close to walkways

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Second time staying at the Istana. Great hotel in a good locality. Close to Pavilion, Bukit Bintang and walkway to KLCC. We pay the extra for a club room which gives you access to the club lounge. The room is clean, comfortable and a good size. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again. The only downside is the bath, which has been repainted, along with the tiles, but it made it look grubby. Overall would definitely recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
There was a leaking on the toilet in one of the room that my family stayed. But otherwise everything else is fine.
4 out of 5
by Cherh Yun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Location great, standard high

Posted May 5, 2017
This hotel is in a great location in Bukit BIntang, within walking distance of shops, bars, restaurants and monorail . We stayed in a club suite which we considered good value. This hotel has all the facilities one should require along with helpful and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Hannah

Just adequate

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Istana for one night because our tour to Taman Negara jungle left from the hotel's lobby in the morning. For that purpose it was adequate, but I wouldn't want to stay longer. The room was very dingy and out of date. The sheets had holes in the them, the towels were threadbare, etc. For the price it was not a good value. We did enjoy the hawker street a short walk away for dinner, so that was a plus.