Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Clarence

Nice place to stay. Definitely would stay again

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were clean and lots of hot water
2 out of 5
by Lyle

HORRIBLE FOOD

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
HORRIBLE FOOD - GOOD STAFF
3 out of 5
by Lyle

NEVER AGAIN

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
FOOD IS INSULTING = CHEAPEST GARBAGE INGREDIENTS THEN A POOR CHEF (sic) A 4-5 TIMES THE VALUE. AIR CON BLOWS IN YOUR FACE FOR A HUGE HEADACHE. CHEAP ROOM QUIETER THAN RIVERSIDE. 2 ENGLISH CHANNELS FOR RE-RUNS IS NOT WORTH $40 MORE. NO EATABLE FOOD IN TOWN. ENGLISH IS NEAR WORTHLESS - I SPEAK FLUENT THAI AND HAD PROBLEMS WITH THAI.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Drab exterior, bad value but great view.

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in serious need of a coat of paint. Really drab exterior. We were also charged extra 100 baht per day for a kids breakfast and 400 baht per night for a mattress on the floor.The receptionist did discount 100 baht. Breakfast was cold, even the eggs and a poor selection. This hotel at best should only be 2 stars .At 1600 baht per night we were really disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Rafik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for exploring Golden Triangle

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Friendly staff, great views over the Mekong and a comfortable room.
5 out of 5
by Joshua from Thailand

A very nice place in northern Thailand

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The Serene is a very nice hotel in a beautiful place, the Golden Triangle, Thailand. The staff is extremely nice, and many of the staff speak excellent English (Pangie is awesome!). The rooms are very comfortable, and you can't beat the price. I would highly recommend staying here if you're passing through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the river, Nice viow.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Bikes in the hotel to use are free. The staff are young but really nice! They speak more English than most hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from BSB

serenity on mekong

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Centrally located with beaut river view - brekkie ok - bedside lamp bulbs need replacing - otherwise ok
3 out of 5
by Sharon from Toronto Canada

Expensive for What You Get

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at the Serene two years ago and wanted to return as it had been really nice. The room was wonderful with the river view and balcony. The air conditioning was not working properly but the technician came up right away. It did not work any better....could not turn down the fan speed so air blowing right onto person on far side. The internet was annoying as everytime you stopped using it the wifi would shut down and you had to put in the network and password again. The pool was out of order and the breakfast was not as it had been. It was basic....egg, toast, jam, fruit and instant coffee. I asked for iced coffee mid day and I asked for cappichino in the morning but this four star hotel had neither. Only saw one couple there for supper and breakfast.