Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo

Very nice hotel within the CBS

Posted Jan 22, 2017
This is a fantastic place to stay-it is a beautiful building with plenty of natural light and lots of history. The rooms are clean, tidy and quiet, and the bed is very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and are genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Full of character in great location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
We loved it, it is a charming historical building with modern rooms and a great large courtyard. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable beds. There were 4 of us, 2 rooms, we all loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second home...

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Such a lovely place to stay.. Beautiful building, rooms with everything you need and right in the middle of town. Perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff were very helpful and always ready to assist with anything i needed.
Cons: there was not an active restaurant at the time i visited which could be inconvenient during bad weather, this is changing soon according to the owner.
Location: Great craft beer pub down the road and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Whatever Ballarat has to offer is accessible from the Ansonia.
I stayed for one night and the staff at Ansonia are very attentive and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The Hotel is walking distance to most everything you could need, so it is easy to find a great food option or a pub for a few drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice and Quiet Hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: All the original features and the garden courtyard.
Cons: Parking, It was paid 1 hour parking at the front of the hotel. Not ideal if you want to go off and do something in the town.
Location: We took the kid to Sovereign Hill. Its a good day but you need the full day as lots to see and do.
Our room was large and spacious. It was clean and tidy and had good amenities. Easy to find and accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located very ordinary hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Basic facilities with smallish rooms, no lift and steep stairs with some of the rooms off a long corridor in converted stable. No breakfast provided and the restaurant was closed. If you can avoid this hotel and find other accommodation you are advised to do so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Nice hotel close to the theatre

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Royal South Street and local cafes. Breakfast package was fantastic value.
Cons: Two whitetail spiders were seen in my room during my two night stay.
Location: Excellent proximity to Royal South Street and some great eateries. Highly recommended during eisteddfod season.
Lovely two night stay during eisteddfod season. Just across from Royal South Street. Fantastic breakfast package - highly recommended. Each staff member was friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the historic centre of Ballarat

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: location, charm
Cons: milk for a cup of tea in the refrigerator would be appreciated
We arrived about 5pm and unfortunately had to leave by 9.00am the next day so we did not have any real opportunity to experience what Ballarat has to offer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Terrible Staff

Posted Jul 6, 2015
We stayed at Ansonia on Lydiard after seeing the light and sound show at Soverign Hill. We called the hotel and told them we would be checking in late. When we arrived at 9pm on Saturday night the manager was angry and rude. He was annoyed at the time we arrived even though we let him know and couldn't check in earlier. Would not stay here again. Not a very nice welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Asonia

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Cons: Parking
Overall our experience at Asonia was fantastic however the lack of parking wasn't known prior to completing the booking.