Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average to stay at!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Was very disappointed in the customer service cleaniness of the bathroom. My shower head was broken and my shower curtain was dirty and had mould on it. Other customers were very loud having a party and the owner didn't want to do anything about it. So I was very unhappy with my stay and won't be back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: It was quite, clean and good hot water service.
Cons: bathroom can be renovated.
Location: Very close to gold mining historical sovereign hill, gold museum and park and city.
Overall good experience. It was quite, clean and good hot water service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Hi Thanks for your taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. thanks for your point, actually, we just started the renovation of bathrooms, it will take bit longer to finished all 25 rooms :) we are looking forward to seeing you next time in ballarat to enjoy our now bathrooms. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for price and star rating.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Cons: Cleaning, service to room, English of staff (not a racist comment, just a simple fact)
Unfortunately the staff at front desk spoke minimal English which made check in and further communications quite difficult and time consuming. Room not properly cleaned (cobwebs, hair on bathroom floor, dust). Had to go to Reception to get more toilet paper, teabags and sugar, even though they had been in and remade our beds in the morning. Only one extra pillow and blanket and two teacups (room could accommodate 3, in 2 beds) even though 3 people were staying. Also, had a barking dog next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
"Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property I am very sorry that your stay was compromised by the communication and the noise of the dog, We are doing everything we can to minimise the inconvenience, the girl at front desk only for after hours assistance and we are pets free. we have also taken the opportunity to address the standards and services of our housekeeping service on the occasion in order to improve the clearness of our rooms. we hope you return to enjoy your next stay at comfort inn main lead, please feel free to contact me direct on my email as i will be pleased to extend you a warm welcome when you come to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Prompt attention. Helpful tourist information. Close to cbd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and encouragement we look forward to seeing you next time you come to Ballarat.
3 out of 5
by martin

well situated friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Service was great . Pool looked unclean . the room had some damage but generally good
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your time, Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location , great customer service .

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Lastminute
Hotel were more than happy to let us check in early so we could attend an event . Rooms were clean and tidy and a good size with a balcony . Bathroom could do with some work .
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review our property, we do our best for all the customer. the renovation of bathroom just started, we are looking forward to seeing you next time, Kind regards.
3 out of 5
by Sandra

Will not return

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for family celebration. Motel chosen for pool and restaurant. Disappointed that staff couldn't communicate in English. Both the establishment's website and signage stated restaurant was opened for lunch and dinner it was only opened for breakfast. Tariff was advertised at one rate but we were charged $9 a night extra, we couldn't discuss this with the staff due to the language issue. This was our 26th booking with Hotels.com and only the third really disappointing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Christine Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Easy reach of sovereign hill and other attractions

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Reasonably quiet, pool needs attention as water not clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Christine, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey.we apologised for the issues of pool, Actually we are working very hard on the pool and will be a big change on it, we are doing our best to help our guests.looking forward to seeing you next time in ballarat
4 out of 5
by Sally

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable and close to Sovereign Hill and Red Lion Pub. Easy trip into town centre. Staff friendly and when toaster didn't work they replaced it quickly. Room a little dated but clean, tidy and spacious for 3 people. Pool area needs a bit of a revamp but was welcome as it was hot when we were in Ballarat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your encouragement, we are the new management of the motel, currently a big renovation of our motel on the way right now. We are very excited to be advising all guests that our motel is on the improve. we are looking forward to seeing you next time you come to ballarat
5 out of 5
by Surangi

Great place

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was so nice, clean and neat
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am very glad that you enjoyed stay in our motel, We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!