Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent near the city and very good people

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: n/a
Cons: Extend the breakfast times.
Location: Location excellent.
We did not expect to have a good time as we did. the staff were amazing. The food was awesome and the way it was served was good. Little wastage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bendigo

Great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We had great fun here. Only complaint was that the bed was too hard. I like a soft mattress!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Living the Sovereign Hill experience

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Our spacious room was on the top floor of a charming colonial style building overlooking Sovereign Hill. We had easy private access to Sovereign Hill and also to the Gold Museum with our additional package. Breakfast, which was included, was well catered for in a beautiful room in the nearby reception building. A truely lovely experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Unbeatable Location

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location was perfect, plus all of the attractions at Sovereign Hill could be booked at the hotel reception (whose staff were excellent).
Cons: The separate bedroom in the family room had no air-con outlet (kids were uncomfortable) or blind on the sky light, so it was very bright at dawn.
Location: Sovereign Hill!
Great hotel with friendly staff situated right on the door step of Sovereign Hill. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was returning to Sovereign Hill. The room came with a full buffet breakfast which was one of the best we've had.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place to stay!

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
it was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Wotif
A very comfortable and quiet motel with a unique touch of nostalgia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a historic location

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Wotif
Brilliant location for a great price, staff friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

The first time we have ever written a bad review!

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: It's proximity to the Sovereign Hill attraction was convenient. However, we certainly didn't appreciate the staff trying to persuade us to buy a further day's admittance to the site, after we'd stated we had been there already that day, when the current promotion at the site entrance is the purchase of a single ticket gains you admittance for two days. Don't bother booking tickets through the Motel - buy them directly at the site! The accommodation included a buffet breakfast. However, we didn't hang around for it!!! See below. The convenience of being able to book accommodation at the motel online. Although, on this occasion, we were 'burned' as a result, ie. As we had already paid, we couldn't simply hand the key back and walk away after seeing the state of our accommodation, which is what we would have liked to have done.
Cons: We travel extensively and have never felt the need to write a poor review before! That, in itself, should speak volumes. So, where to begin: 1. The room was filthy - dead bugs/moths littered the floor; bin/lid was covered in red 'gloop'; microwave had large food remnants inside; a thick layer of dust lay on numerous surfaces; bathroom door had thick toothpaste (?) all over the side and back. 2. The room was very poorly maintained with various items broken and/or not-working, including - shutter window coverings had multiple broken slats, negating the privacy they were supposed to afford; bedside lights fitted into the bed head didn't work, causing a dark room to be even darker; the kettle only started to work after we shook it! 3. Most of the furnishings and equipment were very old & worn - children's bed frames were absolutely covered in chipped or flaking paint; we were provided with some more dining chairs after complaining that the room had no seating apart from TWO dining chairs, for myself, my husband & our 3 children (despite it being a supposed 'family room'!) and these were very old/rickety; crockery was old, stained & mismatched... and we were given 1 (yes, 1!) teaspoon. 4. All 3 children's beds weren't made up! There were only sheets on each, with old blankets folded into squares at the bottom. So, after a long day, I then had to pull out and make up beds!!!! According to staff, the larger rooms are usually for school groups... And it shows. Avoid!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Conveniently situated next to Sovereign Hill historical place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again when next in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels