Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Get what you pay for

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Decent hotel, functional and basic accommodations. Pleasant and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: there was nothing nearby and nothing to do
I was double charged for my one night stay and the hotel rep would not refund my money. Even though it was their mistake. I had to call Expedia (my booking agency) and get my refund from them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
It was alright i would go there again. I will also bring more people to check out the hotel as well
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting hold !!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Dirty rooms hotel should be closed down abandon rooms on site and pubic hair is all over the bathroom disgusting .
4 out of 5
by Tomika

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was okay this time. I had only the last room and the room smelled like mildew, the toilet was not secured to the floor so it made clanking noises every time you sit on it. Just glad I had my candle melt warmer. It was noisy due to children running up and down the walkway and stairs. Then people stomping down the stairs, you can hear it in the room. Other than that it suited me fine for what needed to be done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud area

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
My room was right by the stairs and pool. I could here people going up and down until close to 3am. Very loud area and at one point, a group starting cussing and threatening each other. I'm a young woman and didn't feel particularly safe alone. Hotel staff and breakfast was nice. Room was clean.
1 out of 5
by Marvina from Misawa Japan

Not a good stay.

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dirty, we had to ask them to change sheets. They never vacuumed. Was not a pleasant stay if I had not already payed for the too I would have went somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rick, Hotel Management
We are very sorry for inconvenience. Your feedback is valuable to improve our business. We will make sure to resolve issue asap. Thank you so much for providing feedback. Once again sorry for inconvenience. Thanks, Rick
2 out of 5
by MELANIE from New Haven, CT

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel room looked better in the pictures than it did in person. We arrived early and at 1st we were told that there were no rooms available, but the staff did end up finding something for us which was great. The ac in the room was not working, we called twice to let the front desk know, a few hours later a maintenance person came and told us they might be able to fix it the following day. The heat was uncomfortable we ended up leaving a day early. We were refunded the stay with no hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rick, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for providing your valuable feedback. We are very sorry you had trouble during your stay. We will make sure that this kind of trouble don't happen again. Thank you so much and sorry once aging for all inconvenience. Thanks, Rick
2 out of 5
by Chad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
It took 35 minutes to check in because there was only one lady working and rooms were not ready. I didnt get much sleep because of the person next to us was loud and obnoxious.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Rick, Hotel Management
We are very sorry for all inconvenience. Thank you so much for your feedback. This will help us to improve our business. We will make sure to this won't happen again. Thanks you so much and very sorry once again. Thanks, Rick