Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and breakfast is excellent

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
We will be back in lowcseason again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A castle of comfort!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The whole atmosphere of the place.
Cons: It would be tricky if you were disabled, as although there are lifts there are still steps to negotiate, such as into the restaurant.
Location: Fabulous location and masses to do or nothing depending on your inclination. As well as swimming and sunbathing there was fishing and other watersport
This hotel was very special as it is not very often you get to stay in a castle on it's own 'island'! Our room was very spacious with a good bathroom. The hotel itself is thoroughly modern but with all the old character in place. The wifi did not work very well or very quickly, but this could be down to the stone walls. There is a lift to the town to save tired legs and the town is very chic with lots of amenities for water based activities, shopping or eating. The hotel restaurant was excellent, probably the best meal we have eaten, but quite expensive. The restaurant for both breakfast and meals is in another ancient building. The hotel can arrange all sorts for you to do and has its own beach, but we did not go to it on our short visit. There is also it's own private park to explore, or just sit and enjoy the views of the bay.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Geneva

Magnificent hotel. Don't hesitate.

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Truly fantastic hotel. Sestri Levante is a great place but this is just ever so slightly secluded perched on its own rock above the bay. The result is absolutely incredible views, a private beach to enjoy at your leisure, great restuarants on the doorstep... I really love to explore when I go on holiday and this was the one place that we stayed in tuscany/liguria where we didnt see the need to go too far, it was so beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Stuart from London

We were sorry to leave

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice hotel well run and with excellent staff.Excellent Breakfast and restaurant with magnificent views Parking was easy - a big plus in Sestri Levante Only downside was lack of swimming pool and outside lounging area. The private spa/bathing area was subject to a high daily charge. the terrace on the Hotel upper floor was a disgrace for a Hotel of this standard . Level changes and lack of accesible and safe swimming facilities make it less suitable for young children
5 out of 5
by Gary from Chicago

It's a castle!

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Stay in an incredible castle with a great restaurant, with great service for a price that seems too low.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from London

Beyond our expectations.

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
What an incredible hotel, completely underrated. We were not sure on booking what to expect but all of our expectations were well and truly surpassed. The staff were very friendly to us from the moment we stepped in the door. Our room was great - we stayed in the Old Castle, and had great views out to sea. If you stay at this hotel you must take the opportunity to walk the grounds. After spending a day in more touristy areas it was a sanctuary! The private coastal path gave views to rival the Cinque Terre and the private sea/piscina area allowed us a sun lounger directly on the seafront. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by Jakob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Charming property with 1st class service

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The early morning sea gull laughing
Cons: This old castle has many charms, from the landscaped garden paths to the small church located on the property. Nothing needs improvement.
Location: Great location to walk around Sestre Levante. The elevator lift from the waters edge was welcome on the hot days.
Great location above the bay. The girls in the checkin were very friendly and accommodating. Our room in the newer wing was fantastic, great view and very roomy. We were in Italy for more than 3 weeks and this hotel had the best breakfast (included in room cost) one could expect anywhere. The kitchen cappuccinos (upon request) will not disappoint you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Absolutely stunning hotel with amazing views

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind as it was such an amazing stay!
Location: Sestri Levante is well worth exploring with good shopping and restaurants and bars and the whole area is stunning.
A unique experience at an affordable price in a fantastic hotel with beautiful sea views and very welcoming staff. The room in the castle building was stunning with beautiful furniture and antiques and the communal areas even more amazing! The grounds are absolutely amazing and so quiet with beautiful coastal paths and fantastic gardens with views to die for!
5 out of 5
by Elby from Canton

Wonderful hotel but include private beach in price

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel! Our only suggestion is that the private beach be included in the price of the nightly hotel stay. This is a high quality, luxury hotel and advertised the private beach in a way that implied its use was included in the price. We were shocked when asked to pay for it at check-out. Otherwise, the breakfast buffet was fantastic and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.