Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Castle in the hills

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: There is a set of stairs on the outside of the building that take you to the top of the hotel, a must do for some amazing views
This place was great, starting with the drive up the driveway to get to the front doors of the hotel. If you are driving to this location you will find out soon enough. A brisk 8 minute walk down gets you to the water front along an isolated set of stairs that lead to a main road, Remember what goes down has to come back up again. (it's a hard life living along the ocean:). The staff was great, after check out they let me leave my car parked there most of the day while we took a boat ride into Portofino and spent some time in that area. If you have never been to La Spezia and surrounding towns you quickly realize that parking is hard to come by and not cheap. Again many thanks on letting me leave the car on your property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old castle

Posted May 15, 2016
Nice old castle but nobody helps with your luggage
4 out of 5
by William from miami

you'll enjoy it

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
great service. restaurant wa sexcellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friend staff

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Greatlcation and very friend staff. Shower head power was very weak, made showering very uncomfortable. The shower drain was also clogged so it was overflowing all over the floor the first day; however, as soon as we mentioned it to the staff they fixed it right away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Simply awful, Parking was a nightmare-waited for over an hour just to get our car out. Difficult location. Staff and check in was so rude and ignorant. Hotel was neat in that it was like an old castle but felt very unwelcome. Would definitely not recommend. Room was ok. Cool little rooftop place to hang out but no food or facilities there. Again the staff/owners were very rude and made us feel very unwelcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old castle.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Character,
This facility was disappointing. It is beautiful and was clean. I did not feel that the staff went out of their way to be courteous on our arrival, Very business like. The breakfast buffet was adequate. However if you were late to arrive, things were not restocked. We did not have a tv control in our room on arrival and when we requested one, we were told " there was most certainly a tv control in the room." Later someone brought a tv control to our room, but it was not functioning. The area was lovely but was very busy and noisy with vacationers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, ma, usa

Beautiful building but poor hoteliers

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The building and the view
Cons: Service and facilities
Location: Touristy beach town, very pretty views and location
The building is absolutely gorgeous but not very well maintained. View is amazing. Free Breakfast was ok. Wifi was in and out. Proximity to train made it very noisy, as train runs late at night and very early in morning, and was not mentioned on the page when booking the hotel. Make sure you are accustomed to travelling in Italy before booking this place. Doesn't have all the amenities of comparable hotels in the US. Didn't give us more soap or tp, toilet wouldn't flush, unhelpful staff upon checkin. No elevator to take heavy luggage upstairs and no bellhop either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint, family run

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: More lightweight room key . .
Location: Santa Margherita is a vibrant little town with great vibes. Super restaurants and shopping. One of my favorite cities!
We stayed one night. The ONLY negative was that it is a bit of a hike up the hill, but once there, it's worth the effort! The place looks almost like an old castle, with ton's of nooks and crannies. Wonderful waterfall flowing sound in the back and cheerful birds make for a fun stay. The staff was attentive and helpful. Room was big and clean. I just loved my one night here and would definitely stay again!
2 out of 5
by Charles from Florida

Hotel Caters to Europeans who drive

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Out side appearance and public spaces.
Cons: Staff could have written info for guess regarding how to operate AC, transportation, restaurants, Security of keys and safe is a must.
Location: Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50 vs E15.00 by Taxi.
The public spaces were beautiful and great views from the solarium. The ceiling in the bathroom was so low my 6 foot husband hit his head on the ceiling several times if he forgot to bend over. The A/C was very difficult to control. The safe so small it could be lifted out of the closet and placed under you coat. Room keys were hanging by the front door not supervised. Five minute walk downtown and 20 minute rigorous walk up hill. The bus ride is E1.50, however not always at the time we wanted resulting in E15.00 taxi ride. I expected this rate with baggage, but even w/o baggage E15. This hotel caters to Europeans who drive. The staff spoke very little English and I mean very little and made no attempt to understand my broken Italian. One gentleman who worked the late shift was helpful with train information and would not accept tip. There were no English speaking TV channels. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone arriving by train or did not speak Italian.
4 out of 5
by Marion & Ian from New zealand

Lovely old building

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels
An amazing building with a fantastic view from a big rooftop. Nice breakfast. Easy stroll to the sea and town centre. But the bed was tooooooo hard and the shower was no good. Liked the place very much though!