Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a superb location

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Vesuvio is in a superb location on the beach road a short walk from the train station, shops and restaurants.The ferry to Portofino is a block away. The hotel itself was delightful! The recent renovation was tastefully done,it was very clean and breakfast was outstanding including the view of the ocean. All 20 rooms have a balcony with an ocean view. At the end of the day my husband and I would come back to our room and open the balcony doors and the bathroom window to enjoy the ocean air and sound of the seagulls. Our hotel manager(regret that I did not get his name) was professional and accommodating. He was expecting us when we arrived and was ready with the ferry schedule and a city map.We were always warmly acknowledged by staff members when coming and going from the hotel. Would we stay at Hotel Vesuvio again? Recommend it to friends? Absolutely!! Thank you for a wonderful few days. Elizabeth
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great locale, beautiful sights

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Vesuvio is a great place to set up base to visit places such as Portofino, San Fruttuoso, Santa Margherita. The hotel is basic but we were put up in a newly furbished room. It is small, but very clean. You can take the ferry to visit the places from literally its doorstep. Very good location by the coast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, England

Fantastic hotel in great location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Vesuvio for our 10 year wedding anniversary and loved it! We'd booked a room with sea view and were fortunate to be given a large corner room with a second balcony too ('partial sea view'). From the moment we arrived the staff were nothing short of welcoming and friendly, giving information about local sights (including the regular ferries to Santa Margherita/Portofino/San Fruttuoso...which are a must, and the ferry point only across the road). San Fruttuoso had the most beautiful inlet for swimming too - a stunning coastline. The hotel is within 5 or so minutes walk of the train station (direct line from Genoa Brignole), located on the promenade with many restaurants and cafes nearby. The room was perfect - amazing view, cleaned daily with ensuite having both shower/bath. Nothing more needed! Breakfast was help-yourself continental with cereals, fruit, breads, pastries, meats and cheeses. A great start to the day and to watch the world go by on the Promenade outside. Loved it and loved the area! We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. And the personal service.
Cons: A few basic amenities. A shelf in the shower. Some more storage (perhaps night tables with drawers). Reconfigure some rooms so that they are larger
Location: Great location across from water and promenade and in the middle of many good restaurants. We did not have a bad meal in any of them. Close to bus
We arrived early and the room was ready (Yes!). This hotel/B&B is small (about 20 rooms). Owners are very accommodating and personable and helpful in every way. Can't say enough good things about them. But, our room was terribly small. We have traveled extensively and are aware that many European hotel rooms are small, but I think this was one of the smallest we've stayed in. It was Room 401 and probably the smallest in the hotel. Please, try not to book this room. We were there for 4 nights after spending a week in Genoa, so had a lot of luggage. There was some storage, but not too much. We had to stack our suitcases on top of each other and walk single file. The room only held a bed, wardrobe, nightstands - and we had to live out of our suitcase for the 5 days. The bathroom was even worse. VERY tiny shower and NO SHELF in the shower. You had to juggle soap, shampoo, conditioner in your hands and bend down to put them on the shower floor. We are older and it was very dangerous. The shower floor was slippery, so we asked (and received) a mat. But, they really need to add someplace to put the soap. Also, there are no basic amenities. There was a shower cap (used it - not replaced) and shower gel/shampoo combined. That's it! No conditioner, no lotion, and NO TISSUES. Really, these are basic amenities that should be provided. The Continental breakfast was adequate, but not great. Cold cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, pastries. No hot food. Pleasant breakfast room
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Diappointing

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival we were very disappointed in the room and facilities. We sent a review to Hotels.com which was also received by the hotel and the next morning most things were rectified.There was still no place to hang the towels and nowhere is the very very small shower for soap etc. The room was far too small for a stay of 5 nights but I understand these annoyances could not be fixed overnight and the room cannot be changed therefor the charge should be lower.Hotel Vesuvio is in a great location and the staff and Management a very professional. We enjoyed our chats with Luciano. Luciano seemed a little annoyed that we hadn't spoken to him first but for 165.00 euro p/n we didn't think we should have to.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from hawaii

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff/owners were incredibly helpful right from the start and the room was great. They told us where to go to see the best stuff and were incredibly helpful leaving as well. If you can, ask for a direct ocean view room. We had one to the side but the room and view was still very nice.
5 out of 5
by Caroline Wendy from Barbados

Excellent hotel fantastic location

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
The GM and staff are amazing coffee is great. Location is fantastic The room clean and modern but shower could do with an update
5 out of 5
by JOHN from Darlington

Wonderful location

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
A jewel of the med to stay at and the staff were fantastic . Luciano was brilliant in guiding us on where to see and parking was a factor which he ensured was sorted. Breakfast was fresh and coffee to die for. Thanks . The fireworks were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

The staff here make all the difference.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
The hotel has services expected of a 3 star. The room is clean, spacious and has ample light and a mini balcony with partial sea views - just like the description. The bathroom could do with more lighting, however both the room and bathroom were spacious. The included breakfast is a above average. The location is excellent too. On the Main Street with access to everything and very close to the train station 3-5 minutes walk max. Highlight? The genuinely friendly and helpful staff. I really noticed this after a bit of travelling before checking in here. It really made a difference.
5 out of 5
by Lynda from Aylesbury, UK.

Lovely holiday in Rapallo.

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
We spent five nights in Rapallo, this hotel was perfect, lovely staff, lovely breakfast, lovely room with side sea view, overall just lovely, and convenient for train station and ferry to Portofino etc.